Sexton left out of Ireland summer squad

Jun 14, 2021 12:06 By Dave Hooper
Sexton left out of Ireland summer squad Sexton left out of Ireland summer squad
Share this article

Johnny Sexton, Cian Healy and Keith Earls have been left out of Ireland's squad for games with Japan and USA

Andy Farrell has included 11 uncapped players in his Ireland squad for the July Tests against Japan and the USA at the Aviva Stadium.

There's no place for Johnny Sexton, Cian Healy or Keith Earls in the 37-man squad, while James Ryan has been named captain.

“Johnny (Sexton), Cian (Healy) and Keith (Earls) will not be involved in this window as we grow the experience of other players” explained Farrell.


“It will be a great opportunity to see can this group perform at this level” added Farrell. “We now have two games at home to focus on which will be a good challenge for the group”.

“Japan played the Sunwolves at the weekend and will play the Lions the week before we play at the Aviva Stadium and we know the quality of their squad from the World Cup” Farrell went on.

“We will assemble as a squad on the 22nd June and begin our preparations for the two games”.


“I know the players will come in eager to make the most of this opportunity to pull on the green jersey and play in front of supporters for at the Aviva Stadium for the first time in 18 months”.

Connacht's Caolin Blade, Tom Daly and Paul Boyle have also been called up with UIster's Robert Baloucoune, Tom O’Toole and Nick Timoney.

Munster pair Gavin Coombes and Fineen Wycherley are among the 11 new faces along with Leinster trio Harry Byrne, Peter Dooley and Ross Molony.


Ireland play Japan on the 3rd of July and the USA the following week with both games set to have supporters present as part of the government’s outdoor pilot sport event programme.

Backs (17)

Will Addison (Ulster/Enniskillen) 4 caps


Robert Baloucoune (Ulster/Enniskillen) uncapped

Caolin Blade (Connacht/Galwegians) uncapped

Billy Burns (Ulster) 6 caps


Harry Byrne (Leinster/Lansdowne) uncapped

Joey Carbery (Munster/Clontarf) 22 caps

Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 1 cap

Andrew Conway (Munster/Garryowen) 24 caps

Shane Daly (Munster/Cork Constitution) 1 cap

Tom Daly (Connacht/Lansdowne) uncapped

Chris Farrell (Munster/Young Munster) 14 caps

Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 9 caps

Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 11 caps

Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 29 caps

Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 4 caps

Garry Ringrose (Leinster/UCD) 34 caps

Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 34 caps

Forwards (20)

Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 3 caps

Finlay Bealham (Connacht/Buccaneers) 14 caps

Paul Boyle (Connacht/Lansdowne) uncapped

Ed Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 4 caps

Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) uncapped

Ultan Dillane (Connacht/Corinthians) 18 caps

Peter Dooley (Leinster/Lansdowne) uncapped

Caelan Doris (Leinster/UCD) 7 caps

Dave Heffernan (Connacht/Buccaneers) 5 caps

Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 21 caps

Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 11 caps

Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 43 caps

Ross Molony (Leinster/UCD) uncapped

Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 75 caps

Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) uncapped

James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 35 caps

John Ryan (Munster/Cork Constitution) 23 caps

Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) uncapped

Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 31 caps

Fineen Wycherley (Munster/Young Munster) uncapped

Selected for British & Irish Lions Tour:

Bundee Aki, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, Robbie Henshaw, Conor Murray, Andrew Porter (inj)

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2021 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus