Leitrim firmly in Connacht minor championship frame after Roscommon draw

May 7, 2022 13:05 By Shannonside Sport
Leitrim firmly in Connacht minor championship frame after Roscommon draw Leitrim firmly in Connacht minor championship frame after Roscommon draw
Share this article

Roscommon left searching for victory

Paul Honeyman’s injury time point saw Leitrim draw with Roscommon in the Connacht minor championship on Friday night.

The share of the spoils in a sunny Avant Money Páirc Seán Mac Diarmada where both sides searched for a maiden win in this year’s competition keeps Leitrim firmly in the frame writes Darren Mulvey.

Leitrim opened the scoring with a thumping free-kick from Ben Guckian from 46 meters. Roscommon captain Robert Heneghan opened his sides account in the sixth minute, Guckian added Leitrim’s second from a free.


Roscommon’s John Curran added a point before three minutes of sustained Roscommon pressure yielded a free that Carty tapped over from 13 meters.

Leitrim’s crafted a great score on 17 minutes. A turnover inside their own 20 metre line resulted in a sweeping move that centre forward Paul Honeyman finished off to bring the sides level.

The first real goal chance came Leitrim’s way on 19 minutes. Josh Maye’s shot was cleared by the Roscommon defence and carried straight up the other end for Robert Heneghan tap over.


Another sweeping Leitrim move was finished by Eoghan Moyles after Guckian’s third free put Leitrim one up. Leitrim full-forward Josh Maye traded two score with Roscommon’s Heneghan and sub Eoghan Murray to send Leitrim in one point up at the break, 0-7 to 0-6.

Leitrim went hunting for goals on the changeover and were denied twice in the first 10 minutes by Roscommon keeper Sean Kelly. A third denial saw Josh Maye turn over a short kick-out but blaze a shot wide.

Leitrim’s direct running was causing Roscommon problems but good defensive work led to turnovers that Roscommon converted through sub John McGuinness, Heneghan from a free and Ryan Dowling.


A 12th minute ’45 from Leitrim’s Liam Chandler restored parity before the ever dangerous Paul Honeyman and Heneghan traded frees.

The influential Ben Guckian added another free from close range in the 47th minute. Guckian and Roscommon’s Rory Carthy were both booked as the game entered the final ten minutes before Eoghan Murray scored his second point of the game.

Both sides were looking for the back to back scores to take the lead and it was Roscommon who got them.


A Rory Carthy point from play was immediately followed up by a Heneghan goal, who fielded a delivery from wide on the old stand side to finish powerfully into the town end goal.

Three minutes of additional time were signalled but Leitrim rallied instantly. Paul Honeyman pointed from play two minutes in and from the resulting kick-out Leitrim drove up the stand side of the field. Ben Guckian laid a pass across the face of the goal that Honeyman palmed to the net. There was time for late, late drama as Dara Greenan had the final say with a neat score from 25 meters to leave the sides level at the full time whistle 1-13 apiece.

Roscommon, with one point from three games, have a bye next weekend while Leitrim who have one point from two games travel to Markievicz Park next Friday to take on Sligo.


Leitrim: Shaun Sheridan, Eoghan Moyles 0-1, Eoghan Duignan, Darragh Gardiner, Dara Greenan, Jack Foley, Gerard Murtagh, Ben Guckian 0-4, 4f, Liam Chandler 0-1, ‘45, James Gilheaney, Paul Honeyman 1-4, 1f, Tom Plunkett, Darren Cox, Josh Maye 0-2, Naoise McManus

Subs used: Fionn Curley 0-1 for Chandler (44), Eanna McNamara for Gardiner (51), Adam Gethins for McManus (55), Dessie Wisley for Moyles (60), Matthew Murphy for Plunkett (59)

Roscommon: Sean Kelly, Éanna Nolan, Evan Quinn, Michael Moran, Mark Halligan, Ronan McDermott, Ryan Hanley, Conor Kelly, Brendan Murphy 0-1, Daniel Hagney, Rory Carthy 0-2, Brian Greene, John Curran 0-1, Robert Heneghan 1-5 3f,  Ryan Dowling 0-1

Subs used: Eoghan Murray 0-2 for Hagney (29), John McGuinness 0-1 for Greene (HT), Lee Taylor for Dowling (44), TJ Hannon for Kelly (49 – blood), Conor Kelly for Curran (55)

Referee: Anthony Coyne

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2022 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus