Connacht announce starting team for Benetton game

Mar 31, 2023 14:03 By Michael Cooke
Connacht announce starting team for Benetton game Connacht announce starting team for Benetton game
Share this article

The team shows six changes in total.

Grand Slam winners Mack Hansen and Bundee Aki return to the Connacht side for Saturday’s EPCR Challenge Cup last 16 meeting with Benetton.

Hansen features for the first time since playing the Six Nations success, while Aki make his first appearance for Connacht since Christmas.

Their respective returns are among the six changes made from the side that beat Edinburgh last week.


Fellow internationals Dave Heffernan, Leva Fifita, Paul Boyle and Tiernan O’Halloran also coming into the starting team.

Heffernan is joined by props Peter Dooley and Jack Aungier while Niall Murray partners Fifita in the second row.

The back row sees flankers Cian Prendergast and Conor Oliver join number 8 Boyle.


The half-back partnership of captain Caolin Blade and David Hawkshaw is unchanged, while Tom Farrell partners Aki at outside centre.

The inclusion of Hansen and O’Halloran means John Porch moves to the right wing.


Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus