Sheehan named URC players player of the year

May 24, 2023 18:16 By Dave Hooper
Sheehan named URC players player of the year
Share this article

Dan Sheehan has been named BKT URC Players’ Player of the Season for 2022/23

Leinster hooker Dan Sheehan is the URC Players’ Player of the Season for 2022/23.

Voted for by the league’s captains and vice-captains. The 24-year-old came out on top in a poll which was conducted at the end of the regular campaign.

Therefore, it's the second time Sheehan has been recognised in the URC Awards having secured a place in the Elite XV, pipping OFX Top Try Scorer Tom Stewart to the hooker position.


While, scoring four tries in the 42-10 Round 2 win over Benetton at the RDS Arena, including a 28-minute hat-trick. Sheehan equalled the URC record number by an individual in a game, becoming the eighth player and first from Leinster, to achieve the feat.

Meanwhile, Sheehan also claimed a brace as Leinster suffered Heineken Champions Cup final heartache for the second successive season, losing 27-26 to holders La Rochelle in Dublin on Saturday.

Further to his BKT URC recognition, Sheenan was nominated for the Men’s XVs Players’ Player of the Year and Men’s Young Player of the Year in the Rugby Players Ireland Awards.


URC Awards 2022/23 Winners


OFX Top Try Scorer: Tom Stewart (Ulster)

Tackle Machine: John Hodnett (Munster)

Turnover King: Thomas Young (Cardiff Rugby)


Elite XV: Kurt-Lee Arendse (Vodacom Bulls), Darcy Graham (Edinburgh Rugby), Sione Tuipulotu (Glasgow Warriors), Daniel du Plessis (DHL Stormers), Simone Gesi (Zebre Parma), Ross Byrne (Leinster), Grant Williams (Cell C Sharks), Gavin Coombes (Munster), Scott Penny (Leinster), Vaea Fifita (Scarlets), Federico Ruzza (Benetton), Niall Murray (Connacht), Finlay Bealham (Connacht), Dan Sheehan (Leinster), Steven Kitshoff (DHL Stormers).

Next-Gen Player of the Season: Tom Stewart (Ulster)

Vodacom Fans’ Player of the Season: Manie Libbok (DHL Stormers)


Try of the season: Joaquin Riera (Benetton @ Cell C Sharks, Round 17)

Gilbert Golden Boot: Johan Goosen (Vodacom Bulls)

Ironman: Quan Horn (Emirates Lions)

BKT Coach of the Season: Franco Smith (Glasgow Warriors)

Players’ Player of the Season: Dan Sheehan (Leinster)

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus