Sexton returns to captain Leinster against Munster

Oct 21, 2022 12:45 By Dave Hooper
Sexton returns to captain Leinster against Munster
Share this article

Sexton returns to captain Leinster against Munster

Johnny Sexton returns to captain Leinster against Munster as Leo Cullen makes a number of changes from last week's 23 which beat Connacht in Galway.

In the back three, Ciarán Frawley comes in at full back with Jimmy O'Brien and Jamie Osborne on the wings. Robbie Henshaw and Garry Ringrose are selected in the centre, with Luke McGrath and captain Johnny Sexton the half backs.

In the pack Cian Healy starts loosehead, with Tadhg Furlong at tighthead and Dan Sheehan starting his fifth game of the season at hooker.


Jason Jenkins and James Ryan are selected in the second row. Max Deegan, Scott Penny and Caelan Doris completing the XV selected by Cullen. On the bench, Nick McCarthy will win his 50th cap for Leinster Rugby should he be introduced.


  1. Ciarán Frawley
  2. Jimmy O’Brien
  3. Garry Ringrose
  4. Robbie Henshaw
  5. Jamie Osborne
  6. Johnny Sexton (C)
  7. Luke McGrath
  1. Cian Healy
  2. Dan Sheehan
  3. Tadhg Furlong
  4. Jason Jenkins
  5. James Ryan
  6. Max Deegan
  7. Scott Penny
  8. Caelan Doris


  1. John McKee
  2. Andrew Porter
  3. Michael Ala’alatoa
  4. Ross Molony
  5. Jack Conan
  6. Nick McCarthy
  7. Ross Byrne
  8. Rob Russell

Leinster v Munster

Saturday October 22nd, Aviva Stadium, Kick-off: 5:30pm

Referee: Andrew Brace (IRFU)

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus