Galway beat Roscommon in FBD League final

Jan 14, 2022 18:01 By Dave Hooper
Galway beat Roscommon in FBD League final Galway beat Roscommon in FBD League final
Share this article

Galway beat Roscommon in the Connacht air dome

Galway have landed the 2022 FBD league after a masterful second half comeback to win 1-18 to 1-16.

Roscommon had lead Galway 0-10 to 1-6 at half-time. Roscommon's first-half scores came from Enda Smith 0-2, Conor Cox 0-3, Donie Smith 0-3, Andy Glennon and Cathal Heneghan 0-1 each.

Galway were a different side in the second-half and scored four points within nine minutes of the restart. Enda Smith and a Paddy O'Malley 45 kept Roscommon in it, but Galway would move five points clear with 14 minutes remaining and looked in comand.


Enda Smith produced a goal form nothing on 58 minutes to make it a three point game, 1-12 to 1-14. Galway however always had a lead in the game and lead 1-17 to 1-14 on 70 minutes.

A Conor Cox point from play and a free made it a two point game but Galway did enough to lift the 2022 FBD League.

Roscommon: Patrick O'Malley, Fergal Lennon, Colin Walsh, Richard Hughes, Ultan Harney, Eoin McCormack, Dylan Ruane, Enda Smith, Shane Cunnane, Ciaran Lawless, Andrew Glennon, Diarmuid McGann, Cathal Heneghan, Donie Smith, Conor Cox


Galway: Conor Flaherty, Cillian McDaid, Sean Fitzgerald, Liam Silke, Dylan McHugh, Sean Kelly, Johnny Heaney, Paul Conroy, Paul Kelly, Cormac McWalter, Owen Gallagher, Finnian O'Laoi, Patrick Kelly, Robert Finnerty, Dessie Conneely

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus