Roscommon and District League teams advance in Connacht Cup

Nov 20, 2023 13:24 By Dave Hooper
Roscommon and District League teams advance in Connacht Cup
Share this article

Connacht Cup action for Roscommon and District League sides

Round two of the Connacht Cup centre stage on Sunday, a mixed day for Roscommon and District League teams.

Moore United had a convincing 3–1 win at home to Sligo-Leitrim Super League side Calry Bohemians. On a very wet and windy night at Falty Park the teams struggled to master the conditions in the first-half.

The Sligo side broke the deadlock five minutes into the second-half. After that it was Moore United who were the better side.


The hosts played good football and were rewarded when Alan Duffy levelled the game with 20 minutes remaining. Emmitt Kenny set up Alan Duffy who headed home a second shortly afterwards.

Just at the end of normal time Mark Gannon scored a third for Moore United who are through to the third round.

Premier side Boyle Celtic were beaten 3–2 at home by the impressive Galway premier leaders Salthill Devon. The visitors took an early but a well taken goal by Darren Foley levelled the game.


The Galway side regained the lead shortly afterwards but Callum Andrews scored for Boyle Celtic to leave the sides level at half-time.

Playing with the strong wind in the second-half Salthill Devon added a third with 60 minutes played following a free-kick that should have been cleared by the hosts.

The visitors managed the game from then on and Boyle Celtic just could not get past a well organised defence.


Premier side Shiven Rovers beat the Mayo Premier Division Champions Claremorris 4–2 at Newbridge. In a really entertaining game, Shiven Rovers had to work hard for the win with man-of-the-match Rory Cunningham scoring three goals. Padraig Delaney added their fourth.

Dunmore Town advanced

Dunmore Town made it through to the third round of the Connacht Cup following a thrilling win over the Galway side Bearna Na Forbacha at Dunmore.


The game finished level at 3-3 after extra-time with Dunmore winning 3–2 in the resultant penalty shoot-out. Declan Forde and Padraig Costello gave Dunmore the lead twice in normal time but the visitors struck back to level the game.

The Bearna side went in front in extra-time. However, Declan Forde struck his second in the second period of extra-time to send the game to a penalty shoot-out.

Shane Geoghan made three outstanding saves in in the penalty shoot-out. While it resulted in a win for Dunmore the man-of-the-match was reserved for the Dunmore played Alan Comer.


Ballaghaderreen were involved in a real struggle at home to the Galway side Dynamo Blues.

The game was very entertaining early on but gradually it descended to a real battle. Ballaghaderreen eventually won out on a 3-2 score-line.

The visitors took the lead after 15 minutes. However, Danny Browne had the side’s level with 32 minutes played. Donald Forest added a second for the home side before half-time.

Sharoize Akram added a third for Ballaghaderreen after the break with the Tuam side pulling one back before the end.

The Castleplunket side C P Ajax were beaten 3–1 at home by the Salthill Devon second side.

All Roscommon and District League clash

In an all Roscommon and District League clash at Glenamaddy Division 1 side Skyvalley Rovers beat fellow Division 1 side Glen Celtic 3–2 in a game that could have gone either way.

Ethan Nkololo gave the winners the lead on 20 minutes. However, three minutes later Willie Comer levelled the game when he scored for Glen Celtic. Cormack Moore and Eoin Keogh added two more for the Taughmaconnell side with Willie Comer scoring his second for Glen Celtic in injury time at the end of the game.

Cloonfad United travelled to the Galway Premier side Renmore but were beaten 4-1 by the hosts. Renmore were 2–0 up with 30 minutes played. Luke Ruane pulling one back for Cloonfad before half-time.

While Cloonfad missed a few good chances to level the game it was Renmore who added two more in the second-half.

The remaining games in this competition were postponed.

Roscommon and district league fixtures

In the Roscommon and District League Division 1 Northern section Ballymoe F.C had a convincing 6–0 win over Kilkerrin United at Ballymoe.

The sides were well matched in the first-half with a single goal scored by Jason Tarmey separating the sides. However, Ballymoe were well on top in the second-half. Adrian Collins, Dan Malone, Paddy Rowsome, Ryan Hanley and Jason Connaughton added one each.

In Division 1 South section Cam Celtic/Dysart came from 3-0 down to beat Roscommon United 4-3 at Cam.

Patryk Pietrzak scored twice and Daz Mainwaring one to give the Town side a 3–0 lead on 60 minutes. However, Garrett Mulligan, Robbie Fallon, David Cunniffe and Andy Higgins scored four for the hosts in the closing stages of the game.

St Cuans/Ahascragh United drew 2–2 in a game played at Lecarrow.

Colin Concannon scored two for the hosts in the first-half with Cormac Lavin and Cathal Crehan adding one in each half for Rahara Rovers.

Women's League

In the Women’s League, Kilkerrin United closed the gap on leaders Cam Celtic to three points following a 4–1 win over Boyle Celtic under the lights at Boyle.

Mya Grogan and Samantha Fahy scored two each for Kilkerrin with Sinead Donoghue replying for Boyle.

St Cuans/Ahascragh United made the long and very early journey to Ballaghaderreen and this very young side and their mentors showed great attitude despite losing 10–0 to a very mature Ballaghaderreen side.

Pauline O’Grady scored four Rebecca Finan and Nicole McGuinn scored two each and Allanah and Ava McGreal added one each.

Ballinasloe Town beat Cam Celtic 3–2 at Ballinasloe. The visitors scored early but Pam Nee scored two for the winners before half-time. Cassie Finnerty added a third before Cam Celtic made it 3–2 with a late penalty.

Last week's round-up

Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus