Republic of Ireland take on Qatar in Friendly

Oct 12, 2021 10:10 By Sean McCaffrey
Republic of Ireland take on Qatar in Friendly Republic of Ireland take on Qatar in Friendly
11 October 2021; Jeff Hendrick during a Republic of Ireland training session at the FAI National Training Centre in Abbotstown, Dublin. Photo by Stephen McCarthy/Sportsfile
Share this article

Stephen Kenny will be hoping his side continue their fine form from the weekend

Ireland come into the game on the back of an impressive 3-0 victory over Azerbaijan at the Baku Olympic Stadium, Baku. Goals from Callum Robinson (2) and Chiedozie Ogbene sealed an important victory as Stephen Kenny's side look to make it back-to-back victories tomorrow night.  This is only the second meeting between the Republic of Ireland and Qatar, drawing 1-1 at the Nagyerdei Stadium in Hungary this year. The Republic of Ireland have won four of their last five home friendly matches (D1), winning their last two against Bulgaria in September 2019 and New Zealand in November 2019. Qatar are without a win in five matches in all competitions (D1 L4) since beating El Salvador 3-2 in July. Republic of Ireland are winless in seven home matches in all competitions (D5 L2), their longest such run since May 1971 (12 games). Republic of Ireland’s Callum Robinson scored a brace against Azerbaijan last time out, this after having only scored once in his first 20 senior international appearances for the nation beforehand. The last player to score in back-to-back appearances for the Republic of Ireland was Jonathan Walters in 2017.

Team News
Goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher is set for his first start whilst Josh Cullen and Daryl Horgan remain doubtful following the Azerbaijan match.

Republic of Ireland Squad / v Qatar
Goalkeepers: Gavin Bazunu (Portsmouth, on loan from Manchester City), Caoimhin Kelleher (Liverpool), Mark Travers (AFC Bournemouth).
Defenders: Matt Doherty (Tottenham Hotspur), Cyrus Christie (Fulham), Shane Duffy (Brighton and Hove Albion), John Egan (Sheffield United), Enda Stevens (Sheffield United), James McClean (Wigan Athletic), Andrew Omobamidele (Norwich City), Nathan Collins (Burnley), Liam Scales (Celtic).
Midfielders: Josh Cullen (Anderlecht), Jeff Hendrick (Newcastle United), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Harry Arter (Charlton Athletic, on loan from Nottingham Forest), Jamie McGrath (St. Mirren), Jason Knight (Derby County).
Attackers: Callum Robinson (West Bromwich Albion), Aaron Connolly (Brighton and Hove Albion), James Collins (Cardiff City), Daryl Horgan (Wycombe Wanderers), Adam Idah (Norwich City), Troy Parrott (MK Dons, on loan from Tottenham Hotspur), Will Keane (Wigan Athletic), Chiedozie Ogbene (Rotherham United).

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2022 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus