No Ellen Murphy for Ireland against France

Apr 15, 2021 14:04 By Dave Hooper
No Ellen Murphy for Ireland against France No Ellen Murphy for Ireland against France
Ireland women's team v France Credit:IRFU
Share this article

Ireland Head Coach Adam Griggs has named an unchanged for France test

Adam Griggs has named an unchanged starting XV for Saturday's Women's Six Nations game against France, meaning there is still no place for Longford’s Ellen Murphy.

Ciara Griffin once again captains the side from the back row, where she is joined by Dorothy Wall and Claire Molloy.

Ireland's set-piece provided a strong platform for Griggs' side against Wales and the front row of Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney and Linda Djougang remains unchanged. Aoife McDermott and Nichola Fryday complete the pack.


Ulster scrum-half Kathryn Dane continues her half-back partnership Hannah Tyrrell, who was named Player of the Match in Cardiff, while Sene Naoupu and Eve Higgins are retained in the Ireland midfield.

The back three of Beibhinn Parsons, Lauren Delany and Eimear Considine provide Ireland with a dangerous attacking threat from the backfield, as evidenced against Wales.

Parsons was named Player of the Round for her try-scoring exploits, with the 19-year-old's first score against the Welsh voted Try of the Round.


"We were happy with the result against Wales. We set ourselves a goal of starting this competition off with a win so to achieve that in the manner we did was pleasing” explained head coach Griggs.

“Once we analysed the game and reviewed areas we know we can improve on, we turned our attention to this weekend's game quickly”.

"We know France will be another step up in terms of intensity and physicality and have quality players across the park” added Griggs.


“We have spoken a lot in this group about testing ourselves against world class opposition, Ultimately, we have to stay focused on improving our own game with each performance so to play the fourth ranked team in the world will give us a great indication of where we are currently at."

Murphy Crowe, who has starred for Ireland on the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series in recent years, scoring 98 tries in just 131 World Series matches comes onto the bench to provide exciting backline cover, with hooker Hooban also set for her first involvement of the 2021 Championship.

The duo will provide reinforcements for Griggs alongside Katie O'Dwyer, Laura Feely, Brittany Hogan, Hannah O'Connor, Emily Lane and Stacey Flood, who all added excellent impact off the bench last time out.



  1. Eimear Considine
  2. Lauren Delany
  3. Eve Higgins
  4. Sene Naoupu
  5. Beibhinn Parsons
  6. Hannah Tyrrell
  7. Kathryn Dane
  1. Lindsay Peat
  2. Cliodhna Moloney
  3. Linda Djougang
  4. Aoife McDermott
  5. Nichola Fryday
  6. Dorothy Wall
  7. Claire Molloy
  8. Ciara Griffin (C)


  1. Emma Hooban
  2. Katie O’Dwyer
  3. Laura Feely
  4. Brittany Hogan
  5. Hannah O’Connor
  6. Emily Lane
  7. Stacey Flood
  8. Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe

Ireland v France Women


2021 Women’s Six Nations Championship Round 3

Saturday April 17

Energia Park, kick-off 2.15pm

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2021 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus