Mullinalaghta win fourth Longford SFC title in six years

Nov 7, 2021 18:11 By Michael Cooke
Mullinalaghta win fourth Longford SFC title in six years Mullinalaghta win fourth Longford SFC title in six years
Share this article

St.Columba’s Mullinalaghta were too strong for Mostrim.

St. Columba’s Mullinalaghta were crowned Longford SFC champions following a comfortable victory over Mostrim at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park.

Ciaran Fox’s men led six points to three at half-time before a dominant second-half display saw them win 15 points to six in the end.

The sides traded a point each inside the opening eight minutes. Mullinalaghta moved three points clear on 13 minutes thanks to scores from Jayson Matthews, Cian Mackey and Gary Rogers.


Nine minutes later, Mostrim reduced the margin to a single point before Mullinalaghta restored their three-point cushion at half-time thanks to points from Matthews and Rian Brady.

Mullinalaghta doubled the margin six minutes into the second-half. A brace of points from Darragh Doherty left five between them on 42 minutes.

Mullinalaghta subsequently showed their experience, David McGivney kicking over two points. Shane Mulligan denied a Mostrim goal on 46th minutes.


Seamus Hannon closed the gap to five points with a mark on 50 minutes. However the Edgeworthstown side failed to score for the remainder of the contest.

Moments later, Mostrim finished the game with 14 men as Hannon received a second yellow card.

Mullinalaghta ended the game with scores from James McGivney, Gary Rogers and Mackey and were crowned Longford SFC champions for the fourth time in six years.



Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2022 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus