Leitrim suffer 11 point defeat against Mayo

Leitrim were knocked out of the Connacht Senior Football Championship following a 2-15 to 10 points defeat against Mayo at AvantCard Pairc Sean Mc Diarmada

A superior second second half display saw James Horan’s men emerge victorious having led 1-6 to six points at the short whistle.

Leitrim made the better start and had four points on the board after 10 minutes at which point Mayo had yet to register.

Shane Quinn, Evan Sweeney, Domhnaill Flynn and Keith Beirne were all on target for the home side.

Mayo eventually found their scoring touch hitting three points without reply before the water break.

The visitors replicated this kind of form following the resumption and a goal from Tommy Conroy separated the sides at the break.

The opening stages of the second half were evenly contested until and a 47th minute goal from Cillian O’Connor saw Mayo lead by six points.

O’Connor was the star performer on the day chipping in with 1-9 (1-3 from play).

Mayo outscored their opponents seven points to two thereafter and ran out 11 point winners in the end.

Mayo can now look forward to a Connacht semi-final meeting with Roscommon in Doctor Hyde Park next Sunday.