Leitrim driver shortlisted for Billy Coleman award

Nov 28, 2023 14:04 By Sean McCaffrey
Leitrim driver shortlisted for Billy Coleman award
3 finalists for Billy Coleman young Rally driver of the year
Share this article

Keelan Grogan is one of 3 to be vying for the €100000 prize fund

The finalists for Motorsport Ireland’s Billy Coleman Young Rally Driver of the Year Award have been announced.

Jack Brennan (19, Co. Kilkenny), Keelan Grogan (22, Co. Leitrim) and Craig Rahill (19, Co. Cavan) will represent the best of the best of young Irish rally drivers in this year's shortlist.

The three drivers are in the running for the prestigious Motorsport Ireland Billy Coleman Young Rally Driver Award. A prize fund of €100,000 is available.


Indeed, all seven nominees faced a rigorous selection process. Including interviews from a panel of judges comprising representatives from Irish motorsport and the media.

Brennan hails from Kilkenny and despite his young age, is a former Billy Coleman Award finalist. After a successful Motorsport Ireland Junior Rally Series (MIJRS) campaign.

Indeed, Brennan took top honours in the Rally5 class; having already made the switch to a Peugeot 208 Rally4 for the 2024 season.


It was in this Peugeot 208 Rally4 that Brennan had the highlight of his year. Winning the Rally4 category at the recent Cambrian Rally in just his second rally at the level.

While, 23-year-old Grogan has been contesting the Irish Tarmac Rally Championship in a Peugeot 208 Rally4 alongside, long-time navigator Ayrton Sherlock.

As a previous Class 2 National Champion, Grogan impressed this year with numerous class wins on gravel and tarmac. Including the Midland Stages Rally, West Cork Rally, and Carrick-On-Suir Willie Loughman Forestry Rally.


Whereas, the West Cork result being a particular highlight as it was his first class victory in an International event.

After a dominant year in his Class 11R MKII Escort. Rahill acquired a Rally4 Fiesta and used the car on a number of events in the latter half of this year to impressive effect.

Billy Coleman Award


A second year mechatronic engineering student; Rahill’s plans for the remainder of 2023 are to take part in the Killarney Historic Rally on December second and to take part in multiple test days in his Ford Fiesta Rally4.

Aiden Harper, President of Motorsport Ireland, said:

All the nominees for the Billy Coleman Award were of an outstanding calibre this year – and Jack, Keelan, and Craig, are thoroughly deserving finalists. Importantly, all seven nominees will get the opportunity to further develop their talent as part of the Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy, which bodes well for the future of Irish rallying on domestic and international fronts.


The winner of the Motorsport Ireland Billy Coleman Young Rally Driver of the Year Award will receive €100,000 worth of support to contest rallies nationally and internationally in 2023.

Coupled with Sport Ireland and Motorsport Ireland’s €50,000 investment. A further €50,000 has been pledged by the Team Ireland Foundation thanks to support from John Coyne.

John, a long time competitor is passionate about giving the next generation of Irish talent an opportunity to succeed in the sport he has enjoyed throughout his life.

Additional support from the Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy as part of a training and development plan to progress the winners’ career will also be available. Whereas, the winner may apply for funding for a second year of support upon satisfactory performances in their award-winning year.

Both award runners-up will receive support to compete in stage rallies at home and abroad up to €15,000 each.

Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy programme

All seven nominees who completed the selection process for this year’s Billy Coleman Award will be included in the Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy programme. To nurture and support young drivers and will receive assistance from Billy Coleman Award co-ordinator Sean McHugh.

The last winner of the Billy Coleman Award; Eamonn Kelly has gone onto establish himself in the Junior World Rally Championship through his Motorsport Ireland Rally Academy programme.

The overall winner of the 2023 award will be announced at the Champions of Irish Motorsport Awards ceremony, which takes place on Wednesday, December 6th at the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Santry, Dublin.

The award is presented annually and is supported by Sport Ireland and Motorsport Ireland.

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus