Leinster ready for Zebre opener

Sep 16, 2022 12:09 By Dave Hooper
Leinster ready for Zebre opener Leinster ready for Zebre opener
Share this article

Leinster ready for URC opener with Zebre in Italy

Leo Cullen has named the Leinster squad, for the URC season opener against Zebre Parma at Stadio Sergio Lanfranchi.

New summer signings, Jason Jenkins and Charlie Ngatai, are included in the starting XV for their Leinster debuts.

Rhys Ruddock captains the side from the back row where he's alongside Scott Penny and Max Deegan.


Rónan Kelleher, who missed the end of last season through injury, returns in the front row. Ed Byrne and Michael Ala'alatoa are either side of him while Ross Molony joins Jenkins at lock.

The familiar pairing of Luke McGrath and Ross Byrne make up the half-backs with the other debutant Ngatai, joining Jamie Osborne, now promoted from the Academy, in midfield.

Cullen is able to welcome Dave Kearney back from injury for the new campaign. Kearney is selected on the left wing with academy duo Rob Russell and Max O'Reilly completing the back three.


There's also a welcome return from injury for Will Connors who takes his place among the replacements.

While David Sisi captains the Zebre Parma side which include four debuts in starting XV. Richard Kriel, Tiff Eden, MJ Pelser and Jacques Du Toit.


  1. Max O'Reilly
  2. Rob Russell
  3. Jamie Osborne
  4. Charlie Ngatai
  5. Dave Kearney
  6. Ross Byrne
  7. Luke McGrath
  1. Ed Byrne
  2. Rónan Kelleher
  3. Michael Ala'alatoa
  4. Ross Molony
  5. Jason Jenkins
  6. Rhys Ruddock (C)
  7. Scott Penny
  8. Max Deegan


  1. John McKee
  2. Michael Milne
  3. Vakhtang Abdaladze
  4. Brian Deeny
  5. Alex Soroka
  6. Nick McCarthy
  7. Ciarán Frawley
  8. Will Connors

Leinster v Zebre
Kick-off 1pm Irish time
Referee - Ben Blain

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2022 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus