Leinster ready for Connacht interpro

Mar 25, 2022 16:16 By Dave Hooper
Leinster ready for Connacht interpro
Share this article

Leinster ready for Connacht interpro

Leinster head coach Leo Cullen has named his starting XV for Saturday’s interpro game with Connacht.

The squad will be looking to bounce back this weekend from a disappointing interprovincial defeat against Ulster on their last day out.

There's a welcome return to the lineup for centre Ciarán Frawley who has recovered from a facial injury. He's joined in midfield by Jamie Osborne.


The last line will be made up of Jimmy O'Brien with Tommy O'Brien on his right and Rory O'Loughlin on his left. Luke McGrath captains the side, partnering Ross Byrne in the half-backs.

Up front, recent centurion Peter Dooley, James Tracy and Michael Ala'alatoa are the front row with Ross Molony and Joe McCarthy packing down behind them.

The starting XV is completed by a back row of Rhys Ruddock, Scott Penny and Max Deegan. Among the replacements, there's a potential debut for Academy back Chris Cosgrave.


A versatile player, Cosgrave can play anywhere across the back three but has also lined out at out-half and centre during his school days in St Michael's College.

Now playing his club rugby with UCD RFC, he also played for Old Belvedere in his earlier years.


  1. Jimmy O'Brien
  2. Tommy O'Brien
  3. Jamie Osborne
  4. Ciarán Frawley
  5. Rory O'Loughlin
  6. Ross Byrne
  7. Luke McGrath (C)
  1. Peter Dooley
  2. James Tracy
  3. Michael Ala'alatoa
  4. Ross Molony
  5. Joe McCarthy
  6. Rhys Ruddock
  7. Scott Penny
  8. Max Deegan


  1. Seán Cronin
  2. Ed Byrne
  3. Thomas Clarkson
  4. Josh Murphy
  5. Martin Moloney
  6. Nick McCarthy
  7. David Hawkshaw
  8. Chris Cosgrave

Connacht v Leinster

Saturday 26th March,


The Sportsground, 19:35

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus