Ladies Football set May 23 return

Apr 6, 2021 23:04 By Dave Hooper
Ladies Football set May 23 return Ladies Football set May 23 return
Share this article

Ladies football is set to return to activity on the 23rd of May and might even see mid-week games in a shortened league season.

Three rounds of group fixtures will be played on consecutive weekends, with the semi-finals scheduled for June 13 with each division split into two groups.

Roscommon will face Down, Sligo and Fermanagh in division 3A while Longford will face Kildare, Laois and Wikclow in division 3B.


In Division 2A, TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate champions Meath will be joined by Clare, Kerry, and Wexford, while Armagh, Cavan, Monaghan and Tyrone feature in an all-Ulster Division 2B.

TG4 All-Ireland Senior finalists Dublin and Cork have been pitted together in Division 1B of the 2021 Lidl Ladies National Football League, which is due to get underway on May 23.

Dublin defeated Cork last December to claim a fourth straight All-Ireland Senior crown but Cork are the reigning Division 1 League champions, having won the title in 2019.


Cork and Dublin will be joined by Tipperary and Waterford in an ultra-competitive Division 1B, with Galway, Mayo, Donegal and Westmeath making up Division 1A.

There are four counties in each group, with the exception of a three-team Division 4B, which contains Carlow, Offaly and Limerick, while the divisions have been comprised in regional fashion to minimise travelling for the competing teams, and to help ensure the health and safety of all counties.

There will then follow a two-week break before the Lidl National League Finals are played on June 27.


Confirmation of initial details for the 2021 Lidl National Leagues follow the recent Government announcement that inter-county training can resume from April 19, for ‘sanctioned and organised adult inter-county National Gaelic Games Leagues.’

Fixtures for the 2021 Lidl National Leagues will follow in due course. 

Division 1A  Division 1B  Division 2A  Division 2B  Division 3A  Division 3B  Division 4A  Division 4B 
Galway Cork Kerry Tyrone Down Kildare Louth Carlow
Mayo Dublin Meath Monaghan Roscommon Laois Leitrim Offaly
Donegal Tipperary Wexford Armagh Sligo Longford Antrim Limerick
Westmeath Waterford Clare Cavan Fermanagh Wicklow Derry  

Proposed Dates
Round 1 - 23rd May
Round 2 - 30th May
Round 3 - 6th June (Bank Holiday Weekend)
Semi-finals - 13th June
Finals - 27th June
*Dates are set for a Sunday but may be played midweek or Saturday by agreement with both counties.

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2021 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus