Friend makes three changes for Leinster meeting

Dec 2, 2021 12:12 By Dave Hooper
Friend makes three changes for Leinster meeting Friend makes three changes for Leinster meeting
Share this article

Connacht have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday’s URC interpro away to Leinster at the RDS Arena

Connacht have made three changes to their starting XV for Friday’s URC interpro game with Leinster at the RDS.

Oisín Dowling, Eoghan Masterson and Peter Robb start in the second row, blindside flanker and inside centre respectively. All three came off the bench last week against Ospreys.

“Last week was pleasing not just to pick up five points but to continue our recent level of performances, even with a substantial break in the middle” says head coach Andy Friend. “The challenge for all of us now is to raise our game even more, away to one of the best sides in Europe”.


“We’ll take confidence from our win at the RDS last January, and our travelling supporters will be a big help as always. This game will tell a lot about where we are right now so we’re really looking forward to it.”

Friend has stuck with the majority of the team which beat Ospreys. Robb is partnered by Sammy Arnold with a back three of wingers Mack Hansen and Alex Wootton and full-back Oran McNulty.

Kieran Marmion and captain Jack Carty continue at nine and 10 respectively.


The front row of Matthew Burke, Dave Heffernan and Finlay Bealham is unchanged for the fifth straight game, while Ultan Dillane partners Dowling in the second row.

Masterson’s inclusion means Jarrad Butler moves to number 8 while Conor Oliver completes the line-up from openside.

The replacements include Cian Prendergast and Tom Farrell who both return to the matchday 23 having recovered from injuries.



  1. Oran McNulty
  2. Alex Wootton
  3. Sammy Arnold
  4. Peter Robb
  5. Mack Hansen
  6. Jack Carty (C)
  7. Kieran Marmion
  1. Matthew Burke
  2. Dave Heffernan
  3. Finlay Bealham
  4. Oisín Dowling
  5. Ultan Dillane
  6. Eoghan Masterson
  7. Conor Oliver
  8. Jarrad Butler


  1. Shane Delahunt
  2. Jordan Duggan
  3. Jack Aungier
  4. Leva Fifita
  5. Cian Prendergast
  6. Caolin Blade
  7. Conor Fitzgerald
  8. Tom Farrell
Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2022 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus