Enda Smith Wins GAA All-Star Award

Nov 17, 2023 20:25 By Dave Hooper
Enda Smith Wins GAA All-Star Award
25 January 2019; Roscommon footballer Enda Smith is pictured at the launch of the new Roscommon GAA jersey, at the Glenroyal Hotel & Leisure Club
Share this article

Smith is the first Roscommon winner since Francie Grehan in 2001 and the 12th Roscommon man ever

Enda Smith has landed a PwC Football All-Stars for 2023.

Smith is the first Roscommon man since Francie Grehan in 2001 to claim an All-Star. The Boyle man becomes the 12th Roscommon player to win an All-Star.

Smith starred for Roscommon in a year where they surprised all in division one of the Allianz League finishing third. Roscommon’s best finish since 2002.


Smith scored 1-1 in the Rossies, Connacht quarter-final victory over Mayo. While defeat to Galway saw Roscommon exit Connacht at the semi-final stage.

Enda was influential in the opening day All-Ireland group stage draw with Dublin in Croke Park, where Smith landed a point. Smith registered five points in the win over Sligo and 1-3 in the defeat to Kildare.

Smith registered two points in the heart breaking preliminary quarter-final defeat to Cork in Páirc Uí Chaoimh.


Enda Smith becomes the 12th Roscommon man to win an All-Star awards. In all 16 all-star awards have been awarded to Roscommon men.

Roscommon All-Star Winners:

Mickey Freyne (1972)


Dermot Earley Snr (1974, 1979)

Pat Lindsay (1977)

Harry Keegan (1978, 1980, 1986)


Tom Heneghan (1979)

Danny Murray (1979, 1980)

Ger Connellan (1980)


Paul Earley (1985)

Tony McManus (1989)

Enon Gavin (1991)

Francie Grehan (2001)

Enda Smith (2023)

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus