Delahunt to make 100th Connacht apperance

Jun 3, 2021 12:06 By Dave Hooper
Delahunt to make 100th Connacht apperance Delahunt to make 100th Connacht apperance
Share this article

Connacht name side for final Rainbow Cup game

Hooker Shane Delahunt will become the latest Connacht centurion as Connacht’s face Ospreys in their final Guinness Pro14 Rainbow cup clash.

“I’m delighted for Shane Delahunt who becomes the latest centurion in the squad” declared Connacht head coach Andy Friend.

“Shane always gives us huge energy and he’s had a big increase in game-time this season which is a testament to him and how he’s performed. He’s a great character and a popular member of the dressing room too”.


“We’d obviously prefer to be in the chasing pack for the Final but it’s still important we finish the season on a high” added Friend.

“It’s been such a strange and long 12 months for all the players and staff, but we owe it to ourselves, the supporters and our departing players and staff that we do everything to win this one.”

Delahunt joined the Connacht Academy in the summer of 2014, and made his debut off the bench against Glasgow that September. Following a string of appearances he was handed his first Pro contract ahead of the 2016-17 season and has been a mainstay in the squad since then.


Delahunt starts in a new look front row with props Jordan Duggan and Dominic Robertson-McCoy, while Niall Murray and Ultan Dillane continue their second row partnership.

There’s one change in the back row where Eoghan Masterson starts at number 8, with flankers Cian Prendergast and captain Jarrad Butler retained.

There are further changes at nine and 10 with Caolin Blade and Jack Carty both starting, while Tom Daly and Bundee Aki continue to pair up at centre.


The final change is in the back three where Ben O’Donnell comes onto the wing, with Peter Sullivan on the opposite side and Alex Wootton moving to full-back.


  1. Alex Wootton
  2. Peter Sullivan
  3. Bundee Aki
  4. Tom Daly
  5. Ben O’Donnell
  6. Jack Carty
  7. Caolin Blade
  1. Jordan Duggan
  2. Shane Delahunt
  3. Dominic Robertson-McCoy
  4. Niall Murray
  5. Ultan Dillane
  6. Cian Prendergast
  7. Jarrad Butler (C)
  8. Eoghan Masterson


  1. Jonny Murphy
  2. Matthew Burke
  3. Jack Aungier
  4. Oisin Dowling
  5. Sean Masterson
  6. Kieran Marmion
  7. Conor Fitzgerald
  8. Sammy Arnold

Connacht v Ospreys

The Sportsground

Friday 4th June, kick-off 6.00pm

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2021 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus