Cullen names Leinster team to face DHL Stormers

Apr 29, 2022 15:04 By Dave Hooper
Cullen names Leinster team to face DHL Stormers Cullen names Leinster team to face DHL Stormers
Leinster head coach Leo Cullen address the media
Share this article

Cullen names Leinster team to face DHL Stormers

Head coach Leo Cullen has named his Leinster Rugby side, as sponsored by Bank of Ireland, to face the DHL Stormers at DHL Stadium on Saturday in Round 17 of the URC.

Leo Cullen has opted to rotate the Leinster squad, introducing many of the 31-man touring squad who didn't feature in last week's contest with Cell C Sharks in Durban.

Academy scrum-half Cormac Foley will be making his first start for the province on his fourth appearance, partnered in the half-backs by Ciarán Frawley.


Outside them in midfield, Rory O'Loughlin shifts from the wing to centre while Jamie Osborne holds on to the number 13 shirt.

Max O'Reilly comes in at full-back where he is flanked by Adam Byrne and fellow Academy man Rob Russell.

Up front, John McKee and Thomas Clarkson remain where they are joined by Ed Byrne in the loosehead position.


Fresh from making his debut last week, Brian Deeny stays in the second row alongside Josh Murphy. Rhys Ruddock captains the side from No 8 with Alex Soroka and Scott Penny completing the back row.

Michael Milne is named among the replacements as he hopes to make his first appearance of the season after recovering from injury.

There's another opportunity for hooker Lee Barron from the bench, one of three players to make his debut against Sharks last weekend. Flanker Seán O'Brien is also set to make his first appearance of the season from the bench.


The coaching team will also be able to call upon Vakh Abdaladze, Jack Dunne, Nick McCarthy, Harry Byrne and Martin Moloney.


  1. Max O'Reilly
  2. Adam Byrne
  3. Jamie Osborne
  4. Rory O'Loughlin
  5. Rob Russell
  6. Ciarán Frawley
  7. Cormac Foley
  1. Ed Byrne
  2. John McKee
  3. Thomas Clarkson
  4. Brian Deeny
  5. Josh Murphy
  6. Alex Soroka
  7. Scott Penny
  8. Rhys Ruddock (C)


  1. Lee Barron
  2. Michael Milne
  3. Vakh Abdaladze
  4. Jack Dunne
  5. Seán O'Brien
  6. Nick McCarthy
  7. Harry Byrne
  8. Martin Moloney

Referee - C Evans (WRU)

DHL Stormers v Leinster

Saturday April 30

KO 5.15pm Irish time

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2022 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus