Cronin set to make 200th Leinster appearance

Feb 18, 2022 12:56 By Dave Hooper
Cronin set to make 200th Leinster appearance
Share this article

Cronin set to make 200th Leinster appearance

Sean Cronin is set to make his 200th appearance for Leinster against Ospreys in the RDS tomorrow.

Cronin made his debut for the province against Edinburgh Rugby in October 2011 and has been a mainstay in the side ever since going on to win two Heineken Champions Cups, a Challenge Cup and six URC titles to date.

Cronin has also scored 43 tries in a blue jersey that tally putting him at seventh in the club's overall try-scoring list.


Luke McGrath will lead the side out at the RDS while Ross Byrne will partner him in the half-backs. Harry Byrne gets the nod in the centre where he'll link up with Jamie Osborne as Jimmy O'Brien returns to the number 15 jersey.

Jordan Larmour and Dave Kearney provide O'Brien's support on the wings, the former being one of three players in the starting lineup released from Ireland camp for the fixture.

Another of those coming back into the fold from international duty is Cian Healy who slots into a front row that also contains James Tracy and Michael Ala'alatoa.


Ross Molony and Ryan Baird will pack down behind them with Martin Moloney, Scott Penny and Max Deegan all retaining their places in the back row from the win over Edinburgh last Friday.

On the bench, there's welcome returns to the matchday squad for Thomas Clarkson, who hasn't featured since this fixture in March 2021, and James Lowe who picked up a muscle injury last month.

Cullen can also call on Cronin, Peter Dooley, Jack Dunne, Rhys Ruddock, Nick McCarthy and Rory O'Loughlin.



  1. Jimmy O'Brien
  2. Jordan Larmour
  3. Jamie Osborne
  4. Harry Byrne
  5. Dave Kearney
  6. Ross Byrne
  7. Luke McGrath (C)
  1. Cian Healy
  2. James Tracy
  3. Michael Ala'alatoa
  4. Ross Molony
  5. Ryan Baird
  6. Martin Moloney
  7. Scott Penny
  8. Max Deegan


  1. Seán Cronin
  2. Peter Dooley
  3. Thomas Clarkson
  4. Jack Dunne
  5. Rhys Ruddock
  6. Nick McCarthy
  7. Rory O'Loughlin
  8. James Lowe

Leinster v Ospreys


Saturday February 19

RDS Arena

Kick-off: 5pm

Referee - Gianluca Gnecchi (FIR)

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus