Connacht recall Irish international's for Munster meeting

Nov 25, 2022 16:11 By Dave Hooper
Connacht recall Irish international's for Munster meeting Connacht recall Irish international's for Munster meeting
Share this article

Connacht recall Irish international's for Munster meeting

Andy Friend has recalled his Ireland players for tomorrow’s interpro meeting with Munster in Limerick.

Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham, Gavin Thornbury, Cian Prendergast, Caolin Blade and Bundee Aki are all named in the starting line-up. The squad aim to make it three straight wins in the BKT URC.

Denis Buckley joins Heffernan and Bealham in the front row while Josh Murphy is selected alongside Thornbury in the second row. Prendergast is named at blindside flanker, with Conor Oliver at openside and Jarrad Butler at number eight.


Captain Jack Carty continues at out-half while Tom Farrell partners Aki in the centre. The side is completed by wingers Alex Wootton and Byron Ralston, and full-back John Porch.

On the bench there’s a notable return for Shane Delahunt, who has recovered from an eight-month injury layoff for a potential first appearance of the season. The management team have opted for a 6:2 split, meaning Niall Murray, Oisin Dowling and Paul Boyle could all be called upon.

"Everyone had ten days off after the Ospreys game which I think was needed for coaches and players” said Connacht director of coaching Andy Friend.


“Now that we have everyone back it's all eyes on Munster for the start of an important ten week block for us, and we’re well positioned for these games going forward”.

“Munster away at Thomond Park is never an easy task but I thought we were close last year and the previous year we won there”.

“You can’t just rock up to Thomond and think you’re going to win, you’ve got to work your backside off and bring an element of physicality along with accuracy in what you are doing"



  1. John Porch
  2. Byron Ralston
  3. Tom Farrell
  4. Bundee Aki
  5. Alex Wootton
  6. Jack Carty (C)
  7. Caolin Blade
  1. Denis Buckley
  2. Dave Heffernan
  3. Finlay Bealham
  4. Josh Murphy
  5. Gavin Thornbury
  6. Cian Prendergast
  7. Conor Oliver
  8. Jarrad Butler


  1. Shane Delahunt
  2. Peter Dooley
  3. Jack Aungier
  4. Niall Murray
  5. Oisín Dowling
  6. Kieran Marmion
  7. Conor Fitzgerald
  8. Paul Boyle

Connacht v Munster


Saturday 26th November

Thomond Park, Kick-off: 19:35

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus