Connacht make eight changes for Brive

Dec 15, 2022 16:12 By Dave Hooper
Connacht make eight changes for Brive Connacht make eight changes for Brive
Share this article

Connacht make eight changes for Brive

Andy Friend has made eight changes to the Connacht team tomorrow’s EPCR Challenge Cup fixture away to CA Brive.

Two of the changes from the side that beat Newcastle Falcons last Saturday at The Sportsground, will see first Connacht starts for Sam Illo and Darragh Murray.

Peter Dooley is the only player from the front five that started last weekend that keep his place. Dooley joined by Shane Delahunt and Sam Illo in the front row.


Gavin Thornbury pairs up alongside Darragh Murray in the second row. The back row sees Shamus Hurley-Langton and Paul Boyle keep their place at 7 and 8 while Oisin Dowling will wear the number 6.

In the backs Kieran Marmion starts at scrum half, Bundee Aki returns to centre and Conor Fitzgerald is named at full back.

"We’ve won five of our last seven and tomorrow we hope to make it six from eight” said Connacht director of Rugby Andy Friend.


“So there’s a real sense of momentum building within the group. As is always the case, we can still tidy up certain areas of our game, but overall we’re in a good place heading into Christmas”.

A French team at their home ground is a tough challenge no matter who we face, and Brive will be exactly that tomorrow night.”

“I’m confident we have a group of 23 men who will meet that challenge head on in what will be a physical encounter. There’ll be a few familiar faces in the opposition that we’ll look forward to catching up with after the game."



  1. Conor Fitzgerald
  2. Adam Byrne
  3. Bundee Aki
  4. Tom Daly
  5. Diarmuid Kilgallen
  6. David Hawkshaw
  7. Kieran Marmion
  1. Peter Dooley
  2. Shane Delahunt
  3. Sam Illo
  4. Darragh Murray
  5. Gavin Thornbury
  6. Oisin Dowling
  7. Shamus Hurley-Langton
  8. Paul Boyle (C)


  1. Dave Heffernan
  2. Jordan Duggan
  3. Dominic Robertson-McCoy
  4. Niall Murray
  5. Ciaran Booth
  6. Colm Reilly
  7. Byron Ralston
  8. Oran McNulty

Connacht V Ca Brive


Friday 16th December,

Stade Amedee-Domenech. K.O: 20:00

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus