Brilliant Longford land Leinster Minor Title

May 20, 2024 21:27 By Dave Hooper
Brilliant Longford land Leinster Minor Title
Share this article
Sponsored by

Longford are Leinster minor champions for the first time since 2010

Longford landed the Leinster minor championship with a dramatic two point win after extra-time.

Two late points in the second period of extra-time saw Longford win 15 points to 1-10.

Just one minute was on the clock when Longford took the lead through Karl O’Hara. The Dubs where quick to level the game through Ryan Ennis two minutes later.


However, the Dubs showed that bit of ruthlessness that’s been associated with their senior team.

A pressure build down the left flank, Donnacha McGee hand passing over to Senan Bolger who fisted the ball into the net. Longford shouted for a square ball, referee wasn’t interested.

The young Longford men weren’t unduly down hearted. Alan Mimnagh with the second Longford point of the night on nine minutes.


James Hagan sent over Longford third point six minutes later making it a one point game. Alas, it was Longford’s final score of the half.

Three Riann Doherty frees between the 16th and 29th minute sent Dublin in ahead at half-time 1-4 to three points.

However, it was Longford who were fastest out of the traps after the restart. A Hagan free and Luke Donnelly from play both landed in the 32nd minute.


A Karl O’Hara Longford point from play six minutes later made it a one point game. Charlie Loughran landed Dublin’s first score of the second-half as the game entered the final quarter.

Dublin found some form as a Rian Doherty free made it a three point game with 47 minutes on the clock.

Longford resilience


However, Longford weren’t giving in. A minute later a James Hagan free kept Longford a live. Another big Donnelly long range point brought it back to a point.

Dublin’s tallyman Doherty responded with a big point. However, Ben Blessington responded to make it a one point game with eight minutes remaining.

Longford had all the play in the final minutes, a monster free in injury time from Mark Cooney sent the game to extra-time, 1-7 to 10 points.


Dublin regained the lead two minutes into extra-time through a Rian Doherty free. Indeed, the lead barely lasted 60 seconds as Cormac Flynn fisted the equaliser.

Dublin regained the lead on 66 minutes a big run and shot from Finn Costello. Jacob Comiskey made it a two point game moments later.

Liam Greene made it a one point game in injury time at end of the first period in extra-time. Dublin led 1-10 to 12 points.

Cian O’Donnell levelled the game two minutes into the second period of extra-time. Longford won the Dublin kick-out and O’Donnell put Longford ahead moments later.

With the clocking ticking down Karl O’Hara made it a two point game as Longford won out 15 points to 1-10.

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus