Boyle Celtic continue winning ways in Roscommon & District League

Oct 9, 2023 12:37 By Shannonside Sport
Boyle Celtic continue winning ways in Roscommon & District League
Share this article

Roscommon and District League Round-up 8th October 2023

Last season’s Roscommon and District League runners-up Boyle Celtic beat Castlerea Celtic 3–1 at Boyle.

Castlerea Celtic took the lead early in the first-half. Finbar Cregg had the side’s level. Gerard McDermottroe and Callum Andrews added two more for Boyle Celtic before the end.

The Castleplunket based C P Ajax had a good 3 – 1 win over Ballinasloe Town at Ballinasloe.


Ballinasloe were the better side for most of the first-half and Josh McCarthy gave them a deserved lead on 25 minutes. With two minutes remaining in the first-half, Ryan Larkin levelled the game.

For the remainder of the game C P Ajax defended well with some great play by their back four and keeper.

C P Ajax brought on Dan Connolly five minutes into the second-half and he had an immediate impact. 20 minutes later Connolly out muscled the centre back and volleyed to the Ballinasloe net.


With three minutes of added-on time played, Connolly scored his second to secure all three points for the Castleplunket side.

The Lecarrow side St Johns Athletic beat Shiven Rovers 3-0 at Newbridge. Daire Keenan Jamie Tiernan and Albert Looby scored three goals in the first-half for St Johns Athletic.

Kilkerrin comfortable in division one


In Division 1 South, Kilkerrin United had a comfortable 4–2 win over Ballaghaderreen. Brian McDermott was easily man of the match, scoring all four goals Kilkerrin.

McDermott volleyed in the first after just five minutes. Vinnie Hannelly replied for the Ballaghaderreen just before half-time with an equally good strike from distance.

McDermott struck twice in a three minute period just after the break. One from the penalty spot. Ballaghaderreen pulled one back on the hour mark through Daniel Smyth, but McDermott made it 4–2 a couple of minutes later.


In a real local derby at Onagh Park, Taughmaconnell Cam Celtic/Dysart beat Skyvalley Rovers 3–2.

The hosts took the lead through a Darragh Moore penalty before the visitors struck twice to take the lead. Eoin Keogh levelled the game, but Cam Dysart got the winner with 20 minutes remaining. David Cunniffe scored twice and Daniel Kelly one for Cam/Dysart.

St Johns Athletic beat St Cuans/Ahascragh United 4-0 at Ahascragh. Jordan Kennedy, Patrick Tiernan, David Keenan and M J O’Connor with the goals.


Rahara Rovers remain unbeaten following a 2-1 win over Roscommon United at Clover Park, Rahara.

In a keenly contested game Mark Miley opened the scoring for the hosts after five minutes. Roscommon United equalised through Patryk Pietrzak just before half-time.

It was nip and tuck in the second-half with both teams coming close to scoring. The winner came from Radar’s man-of-the-match, young Conor Kavanagh.

Kavanagh volleyed a super goal from outside the box with 10 minutes remaining.

Connacht Champions Cup

In the Connacht Champions Cup Moore United lost 2–1 at home to the Galway Premier side and Connacht Cup holders Athenry FC.

The hosts played well and were a goal up at half-time. Liam Ryan created an opening for Charles Nevin midway through the first-half, scoring a fine goal.

Athenry equalised five minutes into the second-half. Both teams had chances to score but it was Athenry who got the winner with ten minutes remaining.

Connacht Women's Cup

In the Connacht women’s Cup seven teams from the Roscommon and District League were down to play.

Boyle Celtic were beaten 3–1 at home by the Sligo side Valley Rovers. Niamh McNamara scoring for the hosts.

Kilkerrin United beat the Mayo side Killala F.C 4–1 at Kilkerrin. Aoife Smyth, Aishling Walsh, Aoife Collins and Katie McGann with the goals.

Shiven Rovers were beaten 3–0 away to the Galway side Mervue United.

Cam Celtic received a walk over Kiltimagh/Knock united. Ballinasloe Town conceded their game away to Castlerea Celtic.

Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus