Van Der Flier Returns For Leinster

Feb 26, 2021 12:20 By Dave Hooper
Van Der Flier Returns For Leinster
Leinster Heineken Cup 25 Logo
Share this article

Josh van der Flier returns to the Leinster team for Sunday’s meeting with Glasgow Warriors in the RDS. Van de Flier is back in

Josh van der Flier returns to the Leinster team for Sunday’s meeting with Glasgow Warriors in the RDS.

Van de Flier is back in with Leinster having been part of the Ireland squad over the first two rounds of the Guinness Six Nations and he comes straight into the starting XV.

Jimmy O'Brien has recovered from a hamstring injury picked up against Munster Rugby to start at full back with Cian Kelleher and Dave Kearney again selected on the wings this week by Cullen.


Ciarán Frawley has also recovered from a minor shoulder injury to start in the centre with Rory O'Loughlin outside him at 13.

Luke McGrath captains the side and is again joined this week by Harry Byrne at outhalf.

Peter Dooley, Seán Cronin and Michael Bent are the front row trio selected by Cullen with Devin Toner and Scott Fardy in the second row.


Toner will win his 258th cap on Sunday moving him even closer again to Gordon D'Arcy's all-time record caps total of 261 for Leinster Rugby.

In the back row Josh Murphy starts at blindside, with van der Flier back in to start at openside for his 90th Leinster cap.

Scott Penny starts for the first time at number eight in Leinster senior colours.


On the bench Alex Soroka, who only turned 20 last week, is in line to make his Leinster debut should he be introduced.

Soroka's family moved to Ireland from the Ukraine shortly before he was born. He was born in Cork and the family moved to Dublin afterwards.

The 6' 5" back row is in his first year in the Leinster Academy and went to Belvedere College. He plays his club rugby with Dublin University FC and has two Ireland Under-20s caps.



  1. Jimmy O’Brien
  2. Cian Kelleher
  3. Rory O’Loughlin
  4. Ciarán Frawley
  5. Dave Kearney
  6. Harry Byrne
  7. Luke McGrath (C)


  1. Peter Dooley
  2. Seán Cronin
  3. Michael Bent
  4. Devin Toner
  5. Scott Fardy
  6. Josh Murphy
  7. Josh van der Flier
  8. Scott Penny


  1. Dan Sheehan
  2. Greg McGrath
  3. Tom Clarkson
  4. Jack Dunne
  5. Alex Soroka
  6. Rowan Osborne
  7. David Hawkshaw
  8. Jamie Osborne

Leinster v Glasgow Warriors

Sunday February 28th, RDS Arena

Kick-off: 5:30pm

Referee: Frank Murphy (IRFU)

Tags used in this article
Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2024 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus