Longford TD included in Russian 'Stop List' of sanctioned politicians

Nov 18, 2022 12:11 By Shannonside News
Longford TD included in Russian 'Stop List' of sanctioned politicians Longford TD included in Russian 'Stop List' of sanctioned politicians
Share this article

The local TD described Vladimir Putin as a 'Barbaric Dictator' in the Dáil last March.

A local TD has been included on a list of Irish politicians banned from entering Russia due to their support of sanctions in the wake of the invasion of Ukraine.

Longford/Westmeath Fianna Fail TD Joe Flaherty is among a list of 52 deputies and Senators who have now been put on the country's 'Stop list' due to what the Russian government describes as their involvement in anti Russian propaganda.

The move was made this week with the list including the Taoiseach, Tanáiste, Ceann Comhairle and Minister of Foreign Affairs, as well as 48 other Fianna Fail, Fine Gael and Labour representatives.


Deputy Flaherty is the only local TD or Senator to feature in the list, with the Longford man describing Ukraine as the 'victim of a barbaric act and a barbaric dictator who has brought wanton and untold carnage on that country' in the Dail in March.

Meanwhile the Taoiseach says his focus is on helping Ukraine - and not on Russia's attitude to the Irish Government:

I think its very very important that we understand whats afoot by the Russian Government and not being deflected by it.


We need to maintain our focus and keep international pressure on Russia to end this war.

We need to maintain European Solidarity and unity of purpose with the UK, the US and other like minded democracies.


Share this article

Shannonside Newsletter

Sign up now to keep up to date with the latest news.

Processing your request...

You are subscribed now! please check your email to confirm your subscription.

Copyright © 2023 Shannonside FM. Developed by Square1 and Powered by PublisherPlus