Westmeath’s Fiona Claffey Up For Players Player of The Year

Westmeath’s Fiona Claffey has been nominated for the LGFA TG4 Intermediate Players’ Player of the Year award along with Meath duo Emma Duggan and Vikki Wall.

The LGFA and TG4, in association with AIG Insurance, are pleased to confirm details of ‘Peil na mBan – Foirne na Bliana – le AIG Insurance’ – a special TV show to honour the Teams of the 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Ladies Football Championships.

2020 marked the 20th season of TG4’s sponsorship of the All-Ireland Ladies Football Championships, as well as the 20th year of live TV coverage of the All-Ireland finals.

Fermanagh captured the TG4 All-Ireland Junior silverware, Meath landed the Intermediate title, and Dublin were crowned Senior champions for a fourth successive year.

“We are very much looking forward to ‘Peil na mBan – Foirne na Bliana – le AIG Insurance’ – and to celebrate the very best of the 2020 TG4 All-Ireland Championships” said Marie Hickey, Ladies Gaelic Football Association President.

“Considering the extraordinary year that it was, and the condensed nature of our Championships, we were nevertheless treated to some wonderful football and memorable Championships, which saw worthy winners crowned in Fermanagh, Meath and Dublin”.

“Thankfully, we managed to complete our TG4 All-Ireland Championships, and when you consider the lengths that players went to, to represent their counties, we believe that it is right to acknowledge the efforts of our inter-county stars in all three grades”.

“In that regard, we’re delighted to honour Teams of the Championship at Junior, Intermediate and Senior levels”.

“We will also learn the identities of our senior, Intermediate and Junior Players’ Player of the Year winners, and there’s an impressive line-up of goalscorers competing for the AIG Cúl na Bliana award”.

In a season like no other, these were memorable TG4 All-Ireland Championships, with players across the three grades providing some golden moments.

‘Peil na mBan – Foirne na Bliana – le AIG Insurance’ will reveal the 2020 Junior, Intermediate and Senior Teams of the Championship.

15 players will be honoured from the junior grade 15 from the Intermediate ranks, and 15 from the Senior Championship.

In addition, the 2020 TG4 Players’ Player of the Year award winners will be announced (one from each grade), while the 2020 AIG Cúl na Bliana (Goal of the Year) winner will be revealed.

The nominees have been revealed for the 2020 TG4 Players’ Player of the Year awards, with a winner to be confirmed from each of the three Championship grades, Junior, Intermediate and Senior.

Junior: Meadhbh Deeney (Wicklow), Joanne Doonan (Fermanagh), Eimear Smyth (Fermanagh).

Intermediate: Fiona Claffey (Westmeath), Emma Duggan (Meath), Vikki Wall (Meath).

Senior: Aimee Mackin (Armagh), Sinead Goldrick (Dublin), Carla Rowe (Dublin).