Robbie Henshaw Returns to Leinster Side


Robbie Henshaw and Devin Toner will play their first games in two months tomorrow.

They’ve been selected to start by Leinster head-coach Leo Cullen for their game against Glasgow at the R-D-S.


Academy player Jack Dunne joins Toner in the second-row.

Sean O’Brien will captain the team from the back-row while Rob Kearney has been picked at full-back.

Will Connors has been named on the bench and could make his first appearance since suffering a knee injury in August.

Séan O’Brien will lead out the team and there is also a welcome return from injury for a number of players.

In the back three, Rob Kearney is joined by Jordan Larmour and Dave Kearney, with the returning Robbie Henshaw paired with Joe Tomane in the centre.

Jamison Gibson-Park and Ross Byrne are the half backs.

Ed Byrne, James Tracy and Michael Bent start in the front row, with Devin Toner back from injury to take his place in the second row alongside Academy forward Jack Dunne. It will be a first Leinster start for 20-year-old Dunne.

The back row sees Josh Murphy, captain Seán O’Brien and Caelan Doris pack down.

On the bench there is the potential for a seasonal debut for Will Connors.

Connors injured his ACL against Newcastle Falcons in the pre-season friendly back in August and has been out injured since. Should he come on he will become the 56th player used by Cullen this season.

Leinster Rugby (caps in brackets):

15. Rob Kearney (206)
14. Jordan Larmour (34)
13. Joe Tomane (11)
12. Robbie Henshaw (32)
11. Dave Kearney (133)
10. Ross Byrne (66)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park (69)
1. Ed Byrne (41)
2. James Tracy (89)
3. Michael Bent (120)
4. Devin Toner (227)
5. Jack Dunne (4)
6. Josh Murphy (19)
7. Seán O’Brien (123)
8. Caelan Doris (13)

16. Seán Cronin (168)
17. Cian Healy (203)
18. Tadhg Furlong (97)
19. Will Connors (3)
20. Max Deegan (40)
21. Hugh O’Sullivan (12)
22. Ciarán Frawley (12)
23. Adam Byrne (51)