Moate CS Land All-Ireland Ladies Title

Moate Community School produced a glittering display that saw them bag six goals and the 2019 Lidl All-Ireland Post-Primary Schools Junior B crown in Longford.

Moate had a player of the match display from corner forward Shannon Mulvhill but this was a tremendous team performance from the newly-crowned champions as they won out 6-11 to 2-10 over Coláiste Oiriall.

Coláiste Oiriall from Monaghan got off to a brilliant start and led by two points but the concession of goals proved their undoing in an excellent contest.


Mulvhill netted early for Moate and while Coláiste Oiriall drew level, two goals in a minute from the winners rocked the Monaghan girls back on their heels.

Moate, become the first Westmeath school to win an All-Ireland PPS Junior title, had goals from Megan Clinton and Annie Heavin to hand them a 3-0 to 0-3 lead.

The lead moved out to eight points but Coláiste Oiriall, had Hollie Nic Uaid in excellent form at centre forward refused to lie down.

A gallant effort from Coláiste Oiriall at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park saw them fight their way back into contention, as a quick free from Bríd Nic An Fhailí found Emma Ní Mhiacháin, and she scored the first goal for the Ulster champions.

A penalty goal shortly afterwards from Nic An Fhailí had Coláiste Oiriall just a point behind, 2-5 to 3-3, but Moate’s response before half-time was excellent.

They steadied with points before Eva Cornally netted a penalty on the stroke of half-time, handing Moate a 4-7 to 2-6 interval lead, as Coláiste Oiriall lost Abbie Ní Fhionnagáin to the sin-bin.

Moate stretched their lead out to ten points early in the second half and this time, a spirited Coláiste Oiriall couldn’t work their way back into contention.

Just like they had in the first half, Moate struck for two goals in the blink of an eye, with Mulvihill and captain Aoife Dalton, who was excellent at full-forward, on target.

From there until the finish, Moate CS kept their opponents at arm’s length, and not even a late sin-bin for Heavin could dampen their spirits.

It was left to Dalton to pick up the trophy from Leinster LGFA President Dominic Leech after the game, amid jubilant scenes.

Moate CS: E Quigley, C McCormack, R Martin, C Moran (A Sheerin 56), M Farrell, R Killian (V, H Keenan, Á Gaynor 58), M Clinton, A Heavin, A Cornally, K Burslem, Rotheroe, S Mulvihill, A Dalton (c), H Kelly (E Pettitt 38)

Scorers: S Mulvihill 2-2 (0-1f), A Dalton 1-3, A Heavin 1-2, A Cornally 1-1 (1-0 pen), M Clinton 1-0, Á Gaynor 0-3 (2f).

Coláiste Oiriall: Ó Ní Cheallaigh, A Ní Fhionnagáin, S Ní Earáin (B Ní Mhaoileoin 60+7, A Ní Chearrulláin, U Ní Chongaile, M Ní Raghallaigh (J Ní Chuinneagáin 60+7), J Nic Fhinn, B Nic An Fhailí (capt.), L Ní Chuinneagáin (K.A. Breathnach 60+4), A Ní Chorragáin, H Nic Uaid, C Ní Mhaolchalann, D Ní Ghallchóir (D Ní Chianáin 35 (D Nic Cearáin 60+7)), É Ní Shearraigh, E Ní Mhiacháin.

Scorers: H Nic Uaid 0-7 (2f), B Nic An Fhailí 1-0 (pen), E Ní Mhiacháin 1-0, M Ní Raghallaigh, A Ní Chorragáin & C Ní Mhaolchalann 0-1 each.

Referee: S Curley (Galway)