Slaughtneil capture Ulster title

Slaughtneil (Derry) 1-15

Cavan Gaels (Cavan) 0-10

Ulster senior football final in the Athletics grounds in Armagh


Slaughtneil are the 2017 Ulster senior champions after an eight point win over Cavan Gaels in front of a crowd of 7 and a half thousand spectators.

Cavan Gaels were appearing in their first Ulster senior football final in forty years and the last time a Cavan team were in the final was in 1995 with Bailieborough. Jason O’Reillys side were unstuck by a Derry club that have retained the hurling, football and camogie Ulster championships for the second successive year.

Cavan Gaels were unbeaten in 2017 and had scored over 30 goals in 20 matches but couldn’t find the net today as Slaughtneils Shane McGuigan finished the game with a tally of 1-06. Last years beaten All Ireland finalists were only 3 points ahead at halftime but a goal in the 7th minute of the second half secured them a commanding nine point lead.

Slaughtneil will now face Nemo Rangers in the All Ireland Semi-final.

Cavan Gaels manager Jason OReilly spoke with Damien Donohue after the game

Cavan Gaels: C Flynn; L Fortune, N Murray (0-01), K Meehan; S Murray (0-01), B Fortune, D Sexton; P Graham, R Maloney-Derham; N Smith (0-01), M Lyng, L Murphy; P O’Connor, S Johnston (0-03, 3f), M Dunne (0-04).
Subs: D Meehan for P Graham (h-t).

Referee: C Branagan (Down).

Saint Lomans of Westmeath into their first ever Leinster senior football championship final with a two points win over Simonstown Gaels. Moorefield o Kildare beat Rathnew by 6 points to reach their fist provincial decider in 11 years.

Corofin were crowned Connacht champions for the 3rd time in 4 years after an extra-time win over Castlebar Mitchels.

Nemo Rangers became the Munster champions after a five point win over All-Ireland champions Doctor Crokes.