St. Michael’s Moment In Time Wins Out

St. Michael’s GAA, Roscommon have won a Digital Clock and Scoreboard courtesy of EirGrid as part of the GAA Moments in Time Online Competition.

“First of all, thanks to the people of the club and community for their trojan effort to promote this venture which drew a massive goodwill response from near and far” explained Michael Regan, Club PRO at St. Michael’s.

“This outpouring of support for our rural club fills one with pride and a sense of community. Thanks to each and every-one who supported us and voted for our photograph which attracted in excess of 1,500 votes.”


“Capturing that photograph was truly a ‘Moment in Time’ in the history of our club. This is a great prize which will further enhance our facilities at Ardcarne Park and great respect goes to EirGrid for their sponsorship.”

The competition kicked off in conjunction with the GAA All-Ireland Hurling and Football Championship when EirGrid, proud and official timing partner to the GAA, encouraged GAA fans to post an image of their favourite Moment in Time to either Twitter or Instagram using #EirGridGAA.

Voting for the competition closed on Monday, 16th and the four lucky winner were Greencastle GAA, Tyrone, St Michael’s GAA, Roscommon, Ballyboughal GAA, Dublin and Ballinora GAA.

“I would like to congratulate our winners and commend their four communities, as well as the others shortlisted, for their tireless efforts in showing support to ensure their picture was selected as the winner” explained EirGrid’s Rosemary Steen

“The fantastic prize comprises the delivery and installation of a top-of-the-range, LED, digital clock and scoreboard with a radio-controlled handset to manage the score from anywhere in the ground and we are thrilled to be able to offer this invaluable asset to our four GAA clubs, one in each province.

“We’re looking forward to getting out to the four clubs in Tyrone, Roscommon, Dublin and Cork to meet the winners as well as seeing the scoreboard in use!”

EirGrid is a state-owned company that manages and operates Ireland’s national grid. For more information visit: