Shane Killoran Powers Roscommon Past Leitrim

Roscommon enjoyed a comfortable win over Leitrim as they enjoyed a 14-point victory in their Connacht Senior Football Championship Quarter-Final.

The difference between first and fourth division football played throughout 2019 was evident as Roscommon setup a semi-final date with Mayo as they won out 3-17 to 12 points.

Leitrim came close to opening the scoring as Shane Moran fielded a high ball in the first attack, his effort well saved by Darren O’Malley in the Roscommon goal.


It was a chance that Terry Hyland’s men rued as Shane Killoran tore through for two brilliant left footed goals before.

Roscommon were rampant, their superior power and conditioning seeing them dominate in the forward line, Conor Cox turned on the afterburners in the 33rd minute blowing a huge hole in the middle of the Leitrim defence

Cox slipped in Niall Kilroy, who applied the killer blow for Roscommon’s second goal with the minimum of fuss.

Leitrim looked dangerous when they attacked, Shane Moran proving a huge handful whenever he received any kind of service and Domhnaill Flynn and Ryan O’Rourke accurate with their shooting.

The Rossies went in at the half-time whistle with a 3-6 to 0-7.

Anthony Cunningham’s side had inflicted plenty of damage in the first half, his side only managing 0-4 in the first 25 minutes of the second half.

A bit of an injection from the bench saw a bit of renewed urgency, with the likes of Fintan Cregg, Andrew Glennon, Colin Compton and Cathal Heneghan all pushing for a start the next day.

Leitrim will be disappointed in themselves as they never looked to have any chance of winning the game.

Roscommon’s focus now turns to a mouth-watering clash with Mayo on May 26th in MacHale Park.

However they are now set to be without Conor Daly who received a straight red card in the dying minutes.

Roscommon: D O’Malley (0-1 45), D Murray, S Mullooly, C Daly, N Daly, C Hussey, R Daly, T O’Rourke, S Killoran (2-0), H Darcy, C Cregg, N Kilroy (1-0), U Harney, C Cox (0-5, 0-2fsf), D Murtagh (0-3, 0-2fs)

Substitutes: F Cregg (0-2, 0-1f), C Compton (0-2, 0-1f), C Devaney, A Glennon (0-2fs), C Heneghan (0-1), B Stack

Leitrim: C McCrann, M McWeeney, F McTague, C Reynolds, R Mulvey (0-1), P Maguire, S McWeeney, M Plunkett, S Moran, D Flynn (0-4fs), P Dolan (0-1), S Quinn, E Sweeney, R O’Rourke (0-5fs), G Plunkett

Substitutes: D McGovern, J Heslin, A Flynn, O Madden, N McWeeney