Roscommon get two All Star nominations

Connacht senior football champions Roscommon have been further rewarded for their season with 2 players among the nominations for the PWC All Star Awards being released by the GAA and GPA.

Boyles Enda Smith and Kilbrides Conor Devanney have made it into the shortlist of 45 names for the PWC 2017 All Stars. Roscommon won the Connacht championship for the first time since 2010 this season with victories over Leitrim and Galway before losing out to Mayo in the All Ireland quarter final after the replay. Both players were instrumental in their run with Smith putting in a man of the match display in the Connacht final being put forward in the midfield category and Devanney who scored two goals in the game against Leitrim in the shortlist of defenders.

Newly-crowned All-Ireland champions Dublin dominate the list with the   three-in-a-row Sam Maguire holders are represented by 13 players. After their 10-match Championship run, Mayo have received 12 nominations. The remainder of the breakdown is Tyrone 6, Kerry 5, Roscommon, Kildare and Down each have 2 with Monaghan, Donegal and Armagh completing the high-profile line-up with one nomination each.


As is tradition, the nominations are divided into three goalkeepers, 18 defenders, six midfielders and 18 forwards. It has also been agreed to honour all of those nominated with a specially commissioned certificate of achievement.

The final 15 that make up the PwC All-Star Football team of 2017 will be presented with their awards at a gala black tie banquet in Dublin’s Convention Centre on Friday, November 3.

The selections were voted on by a committee made up of Gaelic Games correspondents, and chaired by Uachtarán Chumann Luthchleas Gael, Aogán Ó Fearghail.

Also announced today is the short list for this year’s Footballer of the Year and Young Footballer of the Year awards.

Dublin’s James McCarthy and Stephen Cluxton and Mayo’s David Clarke and Andy Moran are the four names in contention. The decision to settle on a final four was made so as not to prejudice what the final team selection may be.

Shortlisted for the Young Footballer of the Year prize are Dublin’s Con O’Callaghan, Cork’s Sean Powter and Galway’s Michael Daly.