Roscommon beaten in Connacht Under 20 final

Connacht Under 20 football championship final:

Mayo 3-16

Roscommon 1-6


Roscommon  were defeated by 16 points by Mayo in the inaugural Connacht Under 20 football championship final.

The win came after a wind assisted Mayo dominated the second half after only having a two point half time lead by 1-05 to 1-03.  Aidan Dowd with Roscommons goal.

Roscommon finished with thirteen men after late dismissals to  Damien Duff and Cian McKeon. Shane Currans side had played three games in 15 days.

Mayo  can now look forward to an All-Ireland sem-final against either Derry or Armagh on the weekend of July 14/15.

Roscommon manager Shane Curran spoke with Willie Hegarty after the game

Roscommon scorers: Cian McKeon 0-4 (3fs), Aidan Dowd 1-0, Aaron Brady 0-2 (1f, 145).

Roscommon: Aaron Brady; Damien Duff, Luke Mollahan, Lorcan Daly; Aidan Dowd, Evan Flynn, Darren Nerney; David McManus, Eddie Nolan; Keith Murphy, Gavin Byrne, Dylan Ruane; Paul Carey, Cian McKeon, Brian Derwin. Subs: Gerry Galvin for Daly (28, BC), Ciaran Sugrue for Byrne (28), Cian Corcoran for Ruane (49), Callum Fahey for Derwin (50), Michael Conroy for Nerney (50), Darragh Kildea for McManus (60).