Padraig Pearses Claim Roscommon Hurling Crown

Padraig Pearses landed the Roscommon hurling title after a titanic battle with Athleague where they won out 2-22 to 1-18 after extra-time.

Pearses were the better team throughout, Athleague forced extra-time through late frees deep in injury time from Eamon Flanagan and Ben McGahon.

Pearses led at half-time by one point even though they had been reduced to 14-men after midfielder Luke Corbett saw red having been involved in an incident with Niall Connolly.

While Pearses led through their lead was never more than five points, substitute Robbie Fallon flicked in Cormac Kelly’s delivery for an injury time Athleague goal it set the scene for an Athleague comeback as it finished 1-13 to 16 points at full-time.

Cathal Kelly inspired Pearses in the extra-time to victory as Pearses led 20 points to 16 at half-time before substitute Darragh Finn found the net in extra-time to see Pearses win out 2-22 to 1-18.