Mick Rock Loses Out On GAA Presidency

Larry McCarthy has been confirmed as GAA President-elect seeing off the bid of Roscommon’s Mick Rock.

The 2020 Congress is currently taking place in Croke Park with New York delegate Larry McCarthy elected President-elect and will take-up his role in 2021.

Rock took 40 votes in the first round with the quota to win set at 139 from a total poll of 276 votes. Jerry O’Sullivan took 38 votes and was eliminated on the first count.

On the second count just one vote transferred to Rock with Jarlath Burns moving to 92 from 80 and Larry McCarthy moving to 88 from 63. Jim Bolger stood on 55.

Rock’s votes were distributed to Jim Bolger 56, Jarlath Burns 110 and Larry McCarthy 110.

On the fourth and final count distributing Jim Bolger’s votes Larry McCarthy 142, Jarlath Burns 132, making Larry McCarthy the GAA President-elect.