Mayo Smash Roscommon In Connacht Semi-Final

Roscommon bowed out of the Connacht championship after Mayo produced a stunning performance to win out 1-16 to 13 points.

Anthony Cunningham’s side were unable to cope with the visitor’s pace and power as Diarmuid O’Connor’s 18th minute goal set the tone for a Mayo victory.

O’Connor’s goal at the end of the first quarter to leave them ahead by 1-6 to two points with Roscommon’s socres arriving from a Conor Cox mark and Tadgh Rourke’s point from play.

The hosts rallied during the second quarter with two Cian McKeon points and one from Donie Smith leaving six points between the teams at the break, Mayo leading 1-8 to five points.

Mayo picked up where they left off after the restart as Cillian O’Connor put four points on the board inside 12 minutes.

Conor Cox landed two frees, and Niall Daly was on target from play, but the defending champions were unable to create any real goal-scoring chances.

James Horan’s side put gloss on the final score-line with through Paddy Durcan, Cillian O’Connor (2f) and Conor Loftus to seal a deserved victory.

Mayo will now face Galway in the Connacht final next Sunday at Pearse Stadium in Salthill.