Mayo See Off Roscommon By One Point

Roscommon lost out on their return to the Allianz League division one on a horrible night in Elvery’s McHale Park to Mayo by a single point.

Shane Killoran’s found the Mayo net in the fourth minute of stoppage time but it wasn’t enough as their just wasn’t enough time left on the clock for Rosommon to find an equaliser.

Roscommon losing out 1-8 (11) to 1-7 (10) after Mayo used the second half wind to their advantage and had built a five point lead thanks to a Brian Reape goal.

Roscommon had left by four at half-time 0-5 to 0-1. Colin Compton an Enda Smith free and points from play for Cathal Cregg, Shane Killoran and Donie Smith giving Roscmmon the advantage after Mayo went 32 minutes without a score.

Mayo however got back into the game straight from the restart, Diarmiud O’Connor getting Mayo’s second score of the game.

Jason Doherty then sent over two points to reduce the gap to one before Colin Compton restored Roscommon’s two point advantage.

It didn’t last however as Mayo reduced the gap again with as Donal Vaughan pointed within 30 seconds. Colm Burke received a black card, but it made no matter to Mayo as Paddy Durcan levelled matters and then put Mayo ahead on 59 minutes.

Paddy and Jason Doherty opened a two point lead for Mayo, celebrating their 21st season in a row in division one before Brian Reape but five between the sides with a Mayo goal.

Ultan Harney scored a point for Roscommon with three minutes remaining before seeing the side-line for a second yellow card.

Shane Killoran then found the net but it was too late for Roscommon who lost out by one solidarity point.

Scorers for Roscommon: Colin Compton 0-2, Shane Killoran 1-1, Cathal Cregg, Donnie Smith, Ultan Harney, Enda Smith 1f,  all 0-1,

Scorers for Mayo: Jason Doherty 0-3 1f, Paddy Durcan 0-2, Brian Reape 1-0, Evan Regan 1f, Diarmuid O’Connor, Donal Vaugh all 0-1

Allianz League Results – Saturday 26 January

Division One – Mayo 1-8 Roscommon 1-7

Division Three – Down 1-12 Laois 2-15

Division Four -Waterford 0-9 Wicklow 1-7