Dubs Down Relegation Threatened Roscommon

Dublin saw off Roscommon to move to second in the Allianz League division one table after Roscommon put up a brave battle, Dublin winning 2-14 to 1-12.

The teams were all square at half-time, 1-9 each after an exciting end to end game of football in miserable conditions in Dr. Hyde Park.

Con O’Callaghan scored Dublin’s goal to give them a five-point lead. However, Cathal Cregg’s goal helped Roscommon tie the game up before the break.


Niall Scully opened the scoring after three minutes for the Dubs, But Conor Cox kicked the equaliser from wide out on the right.

Colm Basquel and Paddy Andrews (mark) hit back as Dublin converted from easier opportunities, but the teams were level for the second time in the 13th minute thanks to Donie Smith point.

O’Callaghan regained Dublin’s lead one minute later with Dean Rock then sending over a free.

O’Callaghan found Colm Lavin’s net in the 19th minute. Rock claimed a long ball, when the Roscommon defence forced a fumble, O’Callaghan followed up to score.

Niall Kilroy and another booming Cox effort kept Roscommon alive as they trailed Dublin by a goal, 1-5 to five points after 23 minutes.

Andrews and Lavin traded points before Rock’s second free and O’Connor extended the Dublin lead.

The game spun in Roscommon favour as Cathal Cegg scored a goal on the half-hour mark, fielding Donie Smith’s delivery and drove to the net.

Andrews replied with a point as Cox fired over his third point. Ronan Daly and Enda Smith scored points in added time as Roscommon moved level, 1-9 to 1-9 at half-time.

Roscommon took the momentum into the second half and David Murray combined with Cox to give them a two-point lead.

But from there on in Dublin wrestled control and it was all about Rock.

Rock scored his third free in the 42nd minute, and added a goal on 51st minute after a pile up in the goalmouth.

Rock added a couple of points, Scully and Darren Gavin all scored as Dublin moved 2-14 to 1-11 in-front before substitute Aonghus Lyons scored the consolation.

Roscommon: Colm Lavin, David Murray, Conor Daly, Gary Patterson, Conor Devaney, Niall Daly, Ronan Daly, Tadgh O’Rourke, Shane Killoran (Conor Hussey 59), Niall Kilroy (Sean Mullooly 52), Donie Smith (Hubert Darcy 64), Enda Smith (Colin Compton 52), Ciaran Lennon, Conor Cox, Cathal Cregg (Aonghus Lyons 57)

Scorers: Colm Lavin (0-1, 1 ‘45), David Murray (0-1), Ronan Daly (0-1), Niall Kilroy (0-1), Donie Smith (0-1), Enda Smith (0-1), Ciaran Lennon (0-1, 1f) , Conor Cox (0-4, 1f), Cathal Cregg (1-0), Aonghus Lyons (0-01)

Dublin: Stephen Cluxton, Jonny Cooper, David Byrne, Andrew McGowan (Brian Howard 52), Jack McCaffrey (Robert McDaid 10), Cian O’Sullivan, Cian O’Connor, Brian Fenton (Michael Darragh Macauley 72), Darren Gavin, Niall Scully, Con O’Callaghan, Colm Basquel (Paul Flynn 52), Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock , Cormac Costello (Paul Mannion 45)

Scorers: Niall Scully (0-2), Con O’Callaghan (1-1), Paddy Andrews (0-3, 1f), Dean Rock (1-5, 4f, 1 ‘45), Cian O’Connor, Darren Gavin, Colm Basquel (0-1)

Referee: Pádraig O’Sullivan (Kerry).