Current Roscommon side can emulate the four-in-a-row legends

‘The Current Roscommon senior team and reigning Connacht champions can emulate the Roscommon team that won four Connacht championships in a row from 1977 to 1980’.

That’s the view of former Roscommon corner forward Micky Menton a member of the side that won those provincial crowns aswell as reaching the All-Ireland final in 1980.

Roscommon won the FBD league on Sunday with victory over Galway. They scored 2-12 from play in the final and have been praised for an attacking style of play.


Menton says the current squad have the ability to achieve the same honours as the side he played on. Menton has also encouraged the attacking outlook of Kevin McStays side.