Corofin Pass Padraig Pearses For Four-In-A-Row

A second-half resurgence wasn’t enough for Padraig Pearses as Galway champions Corofin won their fourth Connacht title in succession with a 1-10 to 0-7 win writes Michael Cooke.

It was a difficult first-half for the Roscommon champions and things became tougher in the 18th minute as Niall Carty was sin binned for a pull down on Cathal Silke as he bore down on goal.

Pearses failed to register a single score from play in the opening half. Nonetheless they were only three points in arrears at the break.

The Roscommon champions made a much brighter start to the second-half. A brace of points from Paul Carey cut the margin to a single point.

Corofin restored their two point cushion moments later but Pearses once again drew level courtesy of a point from Niall Daly and he then made a turnover at midfield to set up his brother Ronan for the equaliser.

Two minutes later, Corofin’s Liam Silke rattled the back of the net and subsequent points from Jason Leonard and Michael Farragher helped to seal it for the Galway men.

Corofin can now concentrate on defending their All-Ireland crown as they look to win a third consecutive title.