Roscommon crowned division two champions as Cavan suffer relegation

Roscommon were crowned division two champions following a 1-12 to 13 points win over Cavan in the Allianz Football League at Kingspan Breffni Park.

It was a tale of mixed fortunes however as the hosts were relegated to division three having trailed by seven points to four at half-time.

The opening 22 minutes were evenly contested with the teams deadlocked at three points each.

Donie Smith chipped in with a brace with Diarmuid Murtagh also on target while Martin O’Reilly, Chris Conroy and Cormac O’Reilly were on the mark for Cavan.

The Rossies subsequently opened up a two point lead and very nearly increased it to five points when Raymond Galligan pulled off a fine save from Diarmuid Murtagh.

Donie Smith then added another score giving his side a three point buffer at the interval.

A 40th minute point by Ciaran Murtagh saw Roscommon hit double digits and they now led by 10 points to 5.

Six minutes later a goal by Enda Smith gave the visitors a six-point cushion as the Roscommon captain finished off a well-worked move.

Mickey Graham’s side responded well rattling off three successive scores to halve the deficit.

A goal still separated the sides heading into an injury time where James Smith slotted over a point to tighten the margin.

Roscommon still finished with two points to spare and were crowned division two winners while Cavan will play in division three next year following relegation.