Winds of Change Sweep Through Longford GAA Executive for 2017

The winds of change swept through the corridors of power in Longford GAA circles last night at the County convention which took place in Abbeyshrule.


Outgoing Chairman Brendan Gilmore who was seeking his fifth and final year in the role was defeated by Eamon Reilly from St Munis Forgney. Reilly is well know in GAA administration circles after having served previously as Vice- Chairperson and he defeated Brendan Gilmore by 46 votes to 38 in what was always going to be keenly contested election.



After his election to the top position on the Longford GAA County Board Mr Reilly spoke to Shannonside’s John Duffy.


Brendan Gilmore was not the only outgoing officer to lose out at last night’s convention he was joined by two other outgoing officers in John Bannon and Tommy McLoughlin, both were also unsuccessful with their attempts to secure new positions on the County Executive for 2017.

Well know referee John Bannon was stepping down as one of the two Leinster Council Delegates after serving the maximum five years in that role.  Bannon had thrown his hat in the ring for the vacant post of Vice-Chairperson but lost out to Brid McGoldrick .

The Killoe lady won the contest by 45 votes to 39.

There was also significant interest to see who would be the two new Leinster Council representatives with four in the race.

Outgoing Irish and Cultural Officer and former County PRO, Gerry Hagan, was elected on the first count with 29 votes, which exceeded the quota of 28.

Another well know referee, Derek Fahy took the second position seeing off the challenge of  Tommy McLoughlin and Anthony Dooner.
Longford GAA Officers for 2017
Chairperson: Eamon Reilly (St Munis Forgney)  

Vice-Chairperson: Brid McGoldrick (Killoe Emmet Og)  

Secretary/Games Manager (full-time): Peter O’Reilly (Abbeylara)

Treasurer: Albert Cooney (Rathcline)

Assistant Treasurer: Eugene Quaine (Carrickedmond)

Development Officer: Colm Murray (Kenagh)

Coaching & Games Development Officer: Cyril Connor (Kenagh)

PRO: John Duffy (Dromard)

Central Council Delegate: Michael Carrigy (Sean Connolly’s)

Leinster Council Delegates (2): Gerry Hagan (Killoe Emmet Og) and Derek Fahy (Ballymore)

Irish & Cultural Officer: Eamon Brennan (Young Grattans)

Children’s Officer: Marie Keenan (Colmcille)