Westmeath Blast Past Longford To O’Byrne Cup Final

Westmeath recorded a convincing 2-10 to four point’s victory over Longford to qualify for their second O’Byrne Cup final in a row.

Longford missing their Mullinalaghta players and hampered by a number of injuries were unable math Westmeath who included a number of established players.

Barry McKeon’s free was the only Longford score in the first-half giving them an early lead. With the wind behind them, the hosts hit back with a 10th minute goal from midfielder Sean Flanagan and a brace of Ger Egan frees to establish a 1-2 to 0-1 lead.


Ronan O’Toole, Kieran Martin and Egan added points to extend their advantage to 1-5 to 0-1 at the break.

James Dolan pushed Westmeath further ahead on the restart before Longford briefly rallied with frees from Robbie Smyth and Darren Gallagher.

But the result was never in doubt as the Lake County closed out the game with further points by O’Toole, Egan and McCormack, along with a second goal from McCormack in the 54th minute.

Longford: P Collum, D Quinn, A Farrell, B O’Farrell, C P Smyth, M Quinn, D Mimnagh, D Gallagher, P Hanley, P Lynn, B McKeon, S Donohoe, D Doherty, R Smyth, L Connerton

Scorers: R Smyth 0-2 2f, D Gallagher, B McKeon 0-1 each all free’s