Saint Columba’s knocked out of the Leinster championship

Longford champions Saint Columba’s have been knocked out of the Aib Leinster senior football championship after a 1-12 to 1-11 defeat to Westmeath neighbours Saint Loman’s. Saint Columba’s were six points up with 12 minutes to go but the Westmeath side prevailed and gained revenge for defeat to today’s opponents in last years competition.

Mickey Grahams side started brightly with a point from Gary Rogers and a David McGivney goal in the first minut and they had a 1-08 to 0-07 lead at halftime. Then with 12 minutes to go and the Longford side 6 points up Saint Lomans scored 1-04 without reply including a crucial John Heslin goal from the penalty spot in the 53rd minute. Ciaran Lynam levelled the game and Paddy Dowdall scored the winning point.

Ciaran Lynam levelled the game for Loman’s with an excellent point, before centre-back Paddy Dowdall won the game for his side with time almost up, with a marvellous effort from an acute angle.


St Loman’s now face Simonstown in the semi-final. Simonstown Gaels of Meath won by seven points at Starlights of Wexford  1-12 to 0-8. Reigning Leinster champions St Vincent’s have been shocked by Rathnew in the quarter-finals. The Wicklow men inflicted a 1-13 to 1-9 defeat on the 2014 All-Ireland champions.Niall Hurley Lynch kicked a late winner as Kildare’s Moorefield edged out Portlaoise by 1-9 to 0-11 at O’Moore Park. Saint Columba’s manager Mickey Graham spoke to John Duffy after the game.

St Columba’s: Patrick Rogers; Simon Cadam, Patrick Fox, Francis Mulligan; Conan Brady, Shane Mulligan, Donal Mc Elligott; Aidan Mc Elligott, John Keegan; David McGivney (1-00), James Mc Givney (0-03), Gary Rogers (0-03); Jayson Matthews (0-03), Rian Brady (0-02), Conor Mc Elligott.

Subs used: Rory Mc Elligott for Conor Mc Elligott (47), James Mooney for Conan Brady (54),

Referee: Cormac Reilly (Meath).