Longford Town Receive 2021 Premier Division License

Longford Town have received a Premier Division license for 2021 while Treaty United will join the SSE Airtricity League for the 2021.

The Board of the Football Association of Ireland approved the formation of the SSE Airtricity League Premier and First Divisions for the 2021 season.

The First Division will comprise of 10 teams, with Limerick outfit Treaty United invited to take up the 10th place.

Shamrock Rovers tweeted earlier today that they had received a license for Shamrock Rovers II team which competed in the 2020 season, however they have not been invited to take part.

Licences for the 2021 season were awarded by the Independent Licensing Committee on Friday. On receipt earlier today of the NLEC recommendation that the First Division comprise of 10 teams, the FAI Board then took its decision this afternoon.

The SSE Airtricity Premier Division season will kick-off on March 19th with the SSE Airtricity First Division campaign commencing on March 26th.

SSE Airtricity Premier Division

Bohemian FC, Derry City, Drogheda United, Dundalk, Finn Harps, Longford Town, Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, St Patrick’s Athletic, Waterford FC.

SSE Airtricity First Division

Athlone Town, Bray Wanderers, Cabinteely, Cobh Ramblers, Cork City, Galway United, Shelbourne, Treaty United, UCD AFC, Wexford FC.