Longford Team Named for Kildare Match

Ahead of the 2017 Inter county football season getting under way for Longford in Newbridge where they face Kildare in the opening  round of the O’Byrne cup, Denis Connerton’s side have been handed a boost with the confirmation of the news that Sean McCormack and Padraig McCormack have committed to the County cause for the season ahead.

Sean returns to the county set-up having opted out two years ago while his younger brother Padraig is also back on board Denis Connerton’s squad. However, fellow Emmet Og, Killoe clubman Michael Quinn has been ruled out for another two months after picking up a serious ankle injury while playing for Killoe in the 2016 Longford senior football championship.


The Longford team and squad for the O’Byrne Cup opener against Kildare in Newbridge today is as follows:

Longford (O’Byrne Cup v Kildare): Paddy Collum; Paul McGee, Andrew Farrell, Barry Gilleran; Cian Farrelly, Padraig McCormack, Barry McKeon; Darren Gallagher, Barry O’Farrell; Daniel Mimnagh, Robbie Smyth, Diarmuid Masterson; Mark Hughes, Liam Connerton, Sean McCormack.

Subs: Ciaran Garvey, Liam Sullivan, Paddy Kiernan, Brian Farrell, Paddy Farrell, Ronan McEntire, Dermot Brady, James McGivney, Gary Rogers.