Longford player named in Ireland squad for AFL International Cup

The Australian Rules Football League of Ireland has released the squads which will take part in the sixth edition of the AFL International Cup in Melbourne.

The AFL International Cup is contested every three years in Melbourne, Australia by the best Australian Football National Teams outside of Australia.

Ireland go into the event as second seeds in both the Men’s and Women’s Divisions having lost in both Grand Finals in 2014.

Longfords Megan Creegan from Sydney University has been selected on the Irish womens team. Westmeaths Declan Nannery Powerhouse, Melbourne has been selected on the Mens team

The Women’s Alfa Irish Banshees were winners of the inaugural edition of the event in 2011 and will be hoping to overcome Papua New Guinea, USA and a continental Europe team in order to book a place in the finals.

The mens team, the Irish Warriors have twice won the event before in 2002 and 2011 and face a difficult draw in Division 1 as they are due to meet reigning Champions Papua New Guinea, France, European Champions Great Britain and New Zealand, who have never placed outside the top 4 and were winners in 2005.

Alfa Irish Banshees
1. Claire Donnelly(Tyrone) – Ulster Kookaburras
2. Amanda Maginn(Down) – Ulster Kookaburras
3. Rachel McGee(Donegal) – Ulster Kookaburras
4. Sarah O’ Donovan(Cork) – UCC Crusaders
5. Laura Flannery(kerry) – Dublin Angels
6. Emma Kelly(Derry) – Ulster Kookaburras
7. Fiona Roarty(Donegal) – Ulster Kookaburras
8. Carolann Cassidy(Donegal) – Ulster Kookaburras
9. Olivia McCann(Armagh) – Ulster Kookaburras
10. Onora Mulcahy(Cork) – Wandsworth Demons, London
11. Laura Corrigan Duryea(Cavan) – Melbourne FC
12. Carol Breen(Waterford) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
13. Niamh Hainsworth(Dublin) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
14. Linda Connolly(Mayo) – Wandsworth Demons, London
15. Clara Fitzpatrick(Down) – Diamond Creek, Melbourne
16. Megan Creegan(Longford) – Sydney University
17. Molly Cullen(Wicklow) – Dublin Angels
18. Marie Keating(Limerick) – UCC Crusaders
19. Aisling Gillespie(Donegal) – Ulster Kookaburras
20. Rachel Fox(Sligo) – Pert Angels, Western Australia
21. Sandra Ryan(Tipperary) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
22. Colleen Quinn(Tyrone) – Ulster Kookaburras
23. Gillian Behan(Kildare) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
24. Emma Treanor(Galway) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
25. Maebh Moriarty(Armagh) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
26. Leona Russell(Donegal) – Ulster Kookaburras
28. Mine Higgins(Galway) – Galway Magpies
29. Deborah Geraghty(Dublin) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney
30. Christine McCutcheon(Cavan) – UTS Shamrocks, Sydney

Coaches: Tom Madigan, Roger Clarke, Brendan Kelly(Antrim)
Team Manager: Pat Leavy(Westmeath)
Tour Manager: Paul Ryan

Irish Warriors
1. Muiris Bartley(Cork) – Leeside Lions
2. Patrick Brennan(Derry) – UTS Bats,Sydney
3. Brendan Browne(Kerry) – UTS Bats, Sydney
4. Liam Burns(Dublin) – South Dublin Swans
5. Ciaran Caffrey(Dublin) – South Dublin Swans
6. Oisin Collins(Cork) – Leeside Lions
7. Murtagh Condron(Laois) – South Dublin Swans
8. Ronan Cull(Dublin) – South Dublin Swans
9. Michael Finn(Kerry) – Heidelberg, Melbourne
10. Domhnall Fogarty – Powerhouse, Melbourne
11. Dominic Joyce(Galway) – Leeside Lions
12. Brendan Kelly(Antrim) – Belfast Redbacks
13. Tim Kenneally(Cork) – Powerhouse, Melbourne
14. Darragh Leonard(Cork) – Powerhouse, Melbourne
15. Colin Lordan(Limerick) – Leeside Lions
16. Padraig Lucey(Kerry) – Newtown, Geelong
17. David McElhone(Antrim) – Belfast Redbacks
18. Robert McElhone(Antrim) – Yeppoon, Queensland
19. Paul Murphy(Cork) – Leeside Lions
20. Gavin Murray(Wicklow) – South Dublin Swans
21. Barry Murray – Powerhouse, Melbourne
22. Declan Nannery(Westmeath) – Powerhouse, Melbourne
23. Padraic O’ Connell(Cork) – Leeside Lions
24. Fiachra O Deasmhunaigh(Cork) – Powerhouse, Melbourne
25. Paul O’ Halloran(Carlow) – South Dublin Swans
26. Shane O’ Sullivan(Kerry) – UCC Bombers
27. Mark Tubridy(Clare) – Karratha, Western Australia
28. Gerard Walls(Antrim) – Belfast Redbacks

Head Coach – Brian Currane(Clare)
Asst Coaches – Michael Finn(Kerry), David Stynes(Dublin)
Team Trainer – Dean Ryan(Kildare)
Team Manager – Michael Currane(Clare)
Tour Manager – Paul Ryan

Both teams play their first games on Sunday August 6th.