Longford Beat Carlow To Move Top

Longford are top of Division Three with a dramatic victory over Carlow in Netwatch Cullen Park.

Paudric Davis charges are the only unbeaten team in the third tier after three rounds and move top of of the pile making it three wins from three.

Carlow missed a first-half penalty and were punished in the final ten minutes when Connor Berry grabbed a goal for the visitors which put daylight between the teams.


The sides were level at five point’s a-piece at the break, Carlow 0-5 Longford 0-5. Carlow took the lead after a 43rd minute point.

Longford then enjoyed a good spell kicking over four unanswered points through Joe Hagan, Connerton, Smyth and Connor Berry, to go three ahead, 0-6 to 0-9 on 50 minutes.

Two frees from Carlow sub Paul Broderick brought his side back to within one point by the 60th minute, 0-8 to 0-9.

Longford stretched the lead to four points in the 61st minute when a long high ball in by Colm P. Smyth was brilliantly flicked to the net by Connor Berry, 0-8 to 1-9.

Carlow were reduced to 14 when Sean Murphy was shown a second yellow in the 62nd minute.

Broderick added a late pointed free for Carlow while Gallagher (free) and Daniel Mimnagh point sealed a terrific win for Longford.

Carlow: Robbie Molloy, Chris Crowley (Brendan Kavanagh 70), Shane Redmond, Barry John Molloy, Jordan Morrissey, Eoghan Ruth, Conor Lawlor, Brendan Murphy, Sean Murphy, Sean Gannon, Darragh Foley, Shane Clarke, Diarmuid Walshe (Paul Broderick 39), Darragh O’Brien, Daniel St. Ledger.

Scorers: Paul Broderick 0-3, 3f, Darragh Foley (0-2), Darragh O’Brien (0-2, 1f), Jordan Morrissey (0-1), Sean Gannon (0-1),

Longford: Paddy Collum, Darren Quinn, Andrew Farrell, Barry O’Farrell, Colm P. Smyth, Barry McKeon, Daniel Mimnagh, Darren Gallagher, Michael Quinn, Shane Donohoe (Darragh Doherty 70+2), Nigel Rabbitt (Connor Berry 48), Mark Hughes, Peter Hanley, Liam Connerton, Peter Lynn (Joe Hagan HT)

Scorers: Connor Berry (1-1), Darren Gallagher (0-3f), Colm P. Smyth (0-2), Liam Connerton (0-2), Daniel Mimnagh (0-1), Nigel Rabbitt (0-1), Joe Hagan (0-1)

Referee: Niall Cullen (Fermanagh)