Killoe See Off Longford Slashers To Title

Ronan McGoldrick last gasp fisted point secured a one point victory as Killoe Emmet Og won the 2019 Peter Hanley Motors Longford SFC final.

McGoldrick’s last gasp point saw Killoe to victory by 12 points to 11 over Longford Slashers.

Daniel Mimnagh set up McGoldrick for what proved to the decisive score in the fourth minute of stoppage time at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park.

Killoe lifted the Connolly cup with the one point win in a very keenly contested game as the first-half finished with Killoe ahead by the narrowest of margins.

As the clock ticked down, a replay appeared on after an Andrew Kelly free tied the scores as they head into injury time.

There was still time, however, for midfielder McGoldrick to pop up with the winner one of seven scorers for Killoe with Mimnagh and Sean McCormack landing 0-3 each.

Killoe will now represent Longford in the Leinster football championship where they will face the Westmeath champions, with that game scheduled for the weekend of October 27.